Matthew Blakstad - Hodder & Stoughton

Matthew Blakstad



Matthew's first career was as a professional child actor. From the age of ten, he had roles in TV dramas, in the films and on stage at theatres including the Royal Court. After graduating from Oxford with a degree in Mathematics and Philosophy, he began a career in online communications, consulting for a wide range of clients from the BBC to major banks. Since 2008, he has been in public service, using his communication skills to help the British population understand and manage their money.In 2012 Matthew took the Writing a Novel course at Faber Academy. The Martingale Cycle, a series of standalone but interconnected novels, is his first series.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROR.Early one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths? LUCKY GHOST is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale - and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sockpuppet

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Hodder & Stoughton

Fallen Angel

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

1998: the London art world is about to be wowed by the daring stunts of maverick artist Jon Mangan. But his shady fixer is pursuing other opportunities... opportunities that will lead them into the internet's dark side. 2000: the dot com bubble is starting to burst. Someone just hacked a government department and software ace Sean Perce is under suspicion. He needs to cash up and escape his failing startup firm - and fast. Because the bodies are about to start piling up...Now these two childhood friends will find their worlds colliding, triggering a spiral of mayhem, death and computer viruses.FALLEN ANGEL is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale - and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.