David Ashton - Hodder & Stoughton

David Ashton



DAVID ASHTON was born in Greenock in 1941.
He studied at Central Drama School, London, from 1964 to 1967, and most recently appeared in The Last King of Scotland and The Etruscan Smile. David started writing in 1984 and he has seen many of his plays and TV adaptations broadcast - he wrote early episodes of EastEnders and Casualty, and twelve McLevy series for BBC Radio 4.

inspectormclevy.com

Two Roads

The Lost Daughter

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton
Two Roads

Mistress of the Just Land

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton
Two Roads

Shadow of the Serpent

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes: introducing Inspector McLevy, the Victorian detective whose real-life adventures inspired those of Sherlock Holmes. ...WHILE THE STREETS OF LONDON HAD SHERLOCK HOLMES, THE DARK ALLEYS OF EDINBURGH HAD INSPECTOR JAMES McLEVYELEGANT AND CONVINCING' The Times | 'ASHTON IS THE DIRECT HEIR TO ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON' Brian Cox | 'EXCELLENT' The Sherlock Holmes Society | 'DRIPPING WITH MELODRAMA AND DERRING-DO' Herald1880, Edinburgh.Election fever grips the city. But while the rich and educated argue about politics, in the dank wynds of the docks it's a struggle just to stay alive. When a prostitute is brutally murdered, disturbing memories from thirty years ago are stirred in Inspector McLevy who is soon lured into a murky world of politics, perversion and deception - and the shadow of the serpent.THE INSPECTOR MCLEVY SERIES1 - Shadow of the Serpent2 - Fall from Grace3 - A Trick of the Light4 - Nor Will He Sleep

Two Roads

Nor Will He Sleep

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

BASED ON THE LONG-RUNNING BBC RADIO 4 McLEVY DRAMA SERIES...WHILE THE STREETS OF LONDON HAD SHERLOCK HOLMES, THE DARK ALLEYS OF EDINBURGH HAD INSPECTOR JAMES McLEVYELEGANT AND CONVINCING' The Times | 'ASHTON IS THE DIRECT HEIR TO ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON' Brian Cox | 'EXCELLENT' The Sherlock Holmes Society | 'DRIPPING WITH MELODRAMA AND DERRING-DO' Herald1887. The streets of Edinburgh seethe with anarchy as two gangs of students rival each other in wild exploits. After a pitched battle between them, an old woman is found savagely battered to death in Leith Harbour.Enter the Thieftaker - Inspector Jame McLevy. With Constable Mulholland at his side, he scours the low dives of the waterfront and then sees the tendrils of the case spread to more respectable nooks and crannies.When the inspector encounters Robert Louis Stevenson, author of Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, in the city to bury his deceased father, the two recognise each other as fellow travellers, observers of the dark side of human nature and both hopeless insomniacs.Glimpses of the murderer indicate a slender, androgynous figure with a silver cane, which is used to lethal effect. A dancing killer non unlike Mr Edward Hyde. THE INSPECTOR MCLEVY SERIES 1 - Shadow of the Serpent 2 - Fall from Grace 3 - A Trick of the Light 4 - Nor Will He Sleep

Two Roads

A Trick of the Light

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

BASED ON THE LONG-RUNNING BBC RADIO 4 McLEVY DRAMA SERIES...WHILE THE STREETS OF LONDON HAD SHERLOCK HOLMES, THE DARK ALLEYS OF EDINBURGH HAD INSPECTOR JAMES McLEVYELEGANT AND CONVINCING' The Times | 'ASHTON IS THE DIRECT HEIR TO ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON' Brian Cox | 'EXCELLENT' The Sherlock Holmes Society | 'DRIPPING WITH MELODRAMA AND DERRING-DO' HeraldHalloween 1881, Edinburgh, and the dead are restless.In respectable Edinburgh society, beautiful young American spiritualist, Sophia Adler, is causing a furore with her dramatic séances. But the ghosts of the past seem hell-bent on retribution.Inspector James McLevy finds his investigations distracted by more earthly concerns when Muriel Grierson, an outwardly genteel widow is robbed at home. Her knight in shining armour - one Arthur Conan Doyle, recently graduated from medical school - is keen to learn from such a master of detection as the renowned inspector, but McLevy is less sure that he requires a new acolyte.A vicious murder occurs with evidence of supernatural strength and violence. Treachery revenged from a battle long ago. All roads lead to Sophia Adler and the inspector becomes involved with one of the most dangerous women he has ever encountered. THE INSPECTOR MCLEVY SERIES1 - Shadow of the Serpent2 - Fall from Grace3 - A Trick of the Light4 - Nor Will He Sleep

Two Roads

Fall From Grace

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

BASED ON THE LONG-RUNNING BBC RADIO 4 McLEVY DRAMA SERIES...WHILE THE STREETS OF LONDON HAD SHERLOCK HOLMES, THE DARK ALLEYS OF EDINBURGH HAD INSPECTOR JAMES McLEVYELEGANT AND CONVINCING' The Times | 'ASHTON IS THE DIRECT HEIR TO ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON' Brian Cox | 'EXCELLENT' The Sherlock Holmes Society | 'DRIPPING WITH MELODRAMA AND DERRING-DO' HeraldA burglary and murder at the home of Sir Thomas Bouch, the enigmatic architect of the ill-fated Tay Bridge, sets Inspector James McLevy off on a train of brutal killings, lethal liaisons, and double suicide which leads to a violent encounter with an old enemy, Hercules Dunbar.Caught up in a terrifying storm as he tracks his foe to Dundee, McLevy watches the rail bridge collapse and plunge into the icy depths of the Tay. The aftermath brings the destruction of reputation and love as the inspector uncovers the secret passions which have led to murder.THE INSPECTOR MCLEVY SERIES1 - Shadow of the Serpent2 - Fall from Grace3 - A Trick of the Light4 - Nor Will He Sleep