David Ashton - Hodder & Stoughton

David Ashton



DAVID ASHTON was born in Greenock in 1941.
He studied at Central Drama School, London, from 1964 to 1967, and most recently appeared in The Last King of Scotland and The Etruscan Smile. David started writing in 1984 and he has seen many of his plays and TV adaptations broadcast - he wrote early episodes of EastEnders and Casualty, and twelve McLevy series for BBC Radio 4.

inspectormclevy.com

Two Roads

The Lost Daughter

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes - meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.After Mistress of the Just Land, the second adventure in David Ashton's Jean Brash series...A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set Inspector James McLevy on the prowl, and Jean's past returns in the shape of the avenging son of a man she has long ago been accused of poisoning. Even more lethally, her own lost family life resurrects in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that gnaws at the very root of her identity.All this grounded in Leith's gritty backdrop - the rich exotic world of the theatre meeting the harsh reality of the streets.Past, present and future - this unholy trinity collide to overwhelm the world of Jean Brash and involve her in a tale where the abandoned child inside her demands the right to grieve as well as feel some fractured, fleeting joy.By the end, a chapter of Jean's life may close and a new future might be signalled in other lands and other countries...(P)2017 John Murray Press'Jean Brash is my favourite character and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is' Siobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4's McLevy series)

Two Roads

Mistress of the Just Land

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

The first book in a new series by the creator of Inspector McLevy.New Year's Day - and through the misty streets of Victorian Edinburgh an elegant, female figure walks the cobblestones - with a certain vengeful purpose.Jean Brash, the Mistress of the Just Land, brings her cool intelligence to solving a murder, a murder that took place in her own bawdy-house (the best in Edinburgh and her pride and joy). A prominent judge, strangled and left dangling, could bring her whole life to ruin and she didn't haul herself off the streets, up through low dirty houses of pleasure and violent vicious men - to let that come to pass. The search for the killers will take Jean back into her own dark past as she uncovers a web of political and sexual corruption in the high reaches of the Edinburgh establishment. A young boy's death long ago is demanding justice but, as the body count increases, she has little time before a certain Inspector James McLevy, comes sniffing round like a wolf on the prowl. Jean may be on the side of natural justice but is she on the side of the law? Or will the law bring her down?(P) 2016 John Murray Press

Two Roads

Nor Will He Sleep

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton
Two Roads

A Trick of the Light

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton
Two Roads

Fall From Grace

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

LONDON HAD SHERLOCK HOLMES.THE DARK ALLEYS OF EDINBURGH HAD INSPECTOR McLEVY.'DAVID ASHTON IMPECCABLY EVOKES EDINBURGH' Financial TimesELEGANT AND CONVINCING' The Times'ASHTON IS THE DIRECT HEIR TO ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON' Brian Cox'EXCELLENT' The Sherlock Holmes Society'A REAL PAGE-TURNER' Sunday Post'DRIPPING WITH MELODRAMA AND DERRING-DO' HeraldA burglary and murder at the home of Sir Thomas Bouch, the enigmatic architect of the ill-fated Tay Bridge, sets Inspector James McLevy off on a train of brutal killings, lethal liaisons, and double suicide which leads to a violent encounter with an old enemy, Hercules Dunbar.Caught up in a terrifying storm as he tracks his foe to Dundee, McLevy watches the rail bridge collapse and plunge into the icy depths of the Tay. The aftermath brings the destruction of reputation and love as the inspector uncovers the secret passions which have led to murder.(P)2016 John Murray Press

Two Roads

Shadow of the Serpent

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton