Meg Hutchinson - Hodder & Stoughton

Meg Hutchinson



Meg Hutchinson lived for sixty years in Wednesbury, where her parents and grandparents spent all their lives. Her passion for storytelling reaped dividends, with her novels regularly appearing in bestseller lists. She was the undisputed queen of the clogs and shawls saga. Passionate about history, her meticulous research provided an authentic context to the action-packed narratives set in the Black Country. She died in February 2010.
Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Penny Dip

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

No Place for a Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Agnes Ridley has a cruel tongue and a heart of stone: when she discovers housemaid Lizzie Burton has fallen pregnant, she turns her out with only the clothes on her back. If it weren't for loyal Debbie, who follows her friend into exile, Lizzie would be friendless as well as destitute.The girls are blessed when they meet big-hearted Sadie Trent, who takes them in and cherishes them like her own. But even Sadie cannot protect the girls from the vicious malice of Abe Turley, who is determined to take his pleasure - and then his revenge; and from sinister Fleur Masson, who hides an evil trade behind the respectable facade of a fashion house. After such tribulations, can there ever be true happiness for a child of sin?

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'You be a cheat and a liar Katy Hawley, no wonder your folks d'aint want you! Well we don't want you neither, do we girls?'It was only a playground spat but the cruel words burned like acid into Katrin Hawley's brain. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold and Katrin waited until she could hit her persecutors where it hurt. However, in her pursuit of vengeance, Katrin takes a fatal step too far. Meg Hutchinson's new novel chronicles the ruthlessly destructive quest of one damaged woman at a time when the onslaught of German bombs was daily robbing families of their loved ones. Just as the stalwart men and women of the Black Country were pulling together for victory, one obsessive woman sought only to satisfy her own malignant, vindictive craving for retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

With mounting disbelief, Regan Trent realises that the death of her beloved mother has left her totally at her stepfather's mercy. But mercy is a foreign concept to Sherwyn Huntley. To this ruthless man, Regan is simply an obstacle between him and the Trent fortune. Denied a place at her mother's funeral, cruelly separated from her younger brother, promised in marriage to a sadistic pervert, Regan prefers to take her chance in the wide world. But Huntley will stop at nothing to achieve his cruel ambitions . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Maura Deverell is a young Irish peasant girl whose mother is dying of consumption. Their cruel landlord threatens to throw them out of their cottage unless Maura agrees to marry his young son, Liam Riordan. But before Maura can decide, she is brutally raped by Liam's brother Padraig, who gloats that once she is under their roof, Maura will be at his mercy - his sexual slave.Weak though she is, Maura's mother does not let this vicious act go unavenged. She curses the Riordans and then, on her deathbed, makes Maura promise to leave Ireland for good. Maura ends up in Birmingham, after many narrow escapes from rape and death. Even when she makes staunch friends, and discovers a protector in the shape of Aiden Shanley, she longs to go home, stopped only by her promise to her mother. Eventually the wicked Riordans meet a well deserved sticky end and Maura is persuaded to return and marry Liam after all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Unholy Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Peppercorn Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Judas Touch

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

The Number One bestseller.When Tam's brother Benjie is wrongly accused of theft, and locked in a prison cell, his sister makes a solemn promise that she will not let the little lad down. But Fate makes her break her word almost immediately: Benjie is transported to Australia and Tam must embark upon an epic journey to find him.Friendless and penniless, she makes her way to Bristol, finding employment as a lady's maid on board the Porpoise, a ship bound for the colonies. The voyage is long and perilous and Tam's life is threatened by two depraved seamen; though First Mate James Allen offers her his protection, she cannot return his love. For Tamar's heart already belongs to another seafaring man - Captain Nathan Burford, who, like Tamar, haunts the seas looking for lost loved ones.Under the blazing Australian sun, Tam must endure hardship and cruelty, but she also encounters generosity and friendship from unexpected quarters on her quest. Will one poor girl right a terrible wrong and rescue her brother from the Judas Touch?

Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Bitter Seed

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Set against the backdrop of World War I, this is a heartbreaking tale for fans of Josephine Cox.Having suffered much cruelty at the hands of her father, Isabel Kenton is shocked to hear after his death that he was not her real father.Isabel inherits their house while her twin brother Mark is left the family steel works. But when World War I breaks out, Mark joins the RAF, and Isabel must take responsibility for the management of the business, much to the displeasure of the town's industrialists.Struggling to keep the business alive, she must also discover who she really is. Along the way she will make enemies, but she will also find answers - and love.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Promise Given

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

No Place of Angels

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A captivating saga for fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Carys Beddows cannot understand why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way and throws Carys out to fend for herself.Good fortune leads the girl to Ridge House, and a position as housemaid. The mistress there takes a shine to the gentle girl with the tragic past, and recognises her talent for drawing when she sees Carys's sketches of a young man on the heath. This young man is Reuben Fereday, and he is destined to meet Carys again.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Handful of Silver

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Raped and left pregnant by her drunken father, Anna Bradley knows she must abandon her baby and make a new life if her son is to have a future. As luck would have it, she is befriended by Maggie Fellen, and under her gruff but tender care, Anna builds up a successful business, and even finds a measure of happiness with Edward Royce. The happiness does not last: tragedy - and a cruel man - rob her of both husband and livelihood and once more she must rebuild her fortune. But Anna can never forget her firstborn; and when Fate leads her back to Wednesbury, it is to a confrontation that could break - or mend - her heart.