Dorothy L Sayers - Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers' amateur sleuth returns in this collection of three stories, featuring a brand new introduction. A must-read for fans of the inimitable Lord Peter Wimsey, as well Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular . . .The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero, and this book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.

Hodder Paperbacks

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder Paperbacks

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The thirteenth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer Natasha Cooper - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

Murder Must Advertise

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The seventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer and crime reviewer Barry Forshaw - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . .But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying?'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

An epistolary crime novel from Dorothy L Sayers, creator of the classic Lord Peter Wimsey series - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, and introduced by author and journalist Libby Purves.The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller' Minette Walters

Hodder Paperbacks

Lord Peter Views the Body

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Unnatural Death

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The third book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer Minette Walters - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. 'No sign of foul play,' says Dr Carr after the post-mortem on Agatha Dawson. The case is closed. But Lord Peter Wimsey is not satisfied . . .With no clues to work on, he begins his own investigation. No clues, that is, until the sudden, senseless murder of Agatha's maid. What is going on in the mysterious Mrs Forrest's Mayfair flat? And can Wimsey catch a desperate murderer before he himself becomes one of the victims?

Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' Ruth Rendell(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Hangman's Holiday

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Poisoned port . . . pet cats in peril . . . purloined pearls . . .Lord Peter Wimsey solves the mysteries of the man who was blown into the fourth dimension and the murder in fancy dress. He pursues miscreants across several countries and into unexpected hiding places. Dorothy L. Sayers' other detective, Montague Egg, encounters a fugitive murderer and uncovers a killer in an Oxford cloister. The travelling salesman extraordinaire solves puzzles with a unique combination of matter-of-fact practicality and brilliant deduction.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Lord Peter Wimsey could imagine the artist stepping back, the stagger, the fall, down to where the pointed rocks grinned like teeth.But was it an accident - or murder? Six members of the close-knit Galloway artists' colony do not regret Campbell's death.Five of them are red herrings.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . .But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying?'I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' Ruth Rendell(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

It was the body of a tall stout man. On his dead face, a handsome pair of gold pince-nez mocked death with grotesque elegance.The body wore nothing else.Lord Peter Wimsey knew immediately what the corpse was supposed to be. His problem was to find out whose body had found its way into Mr Alfred Thipps' Battersea bathroom.'I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail.' Ruth Rendell(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton