Related to: 'Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror'

by Tana French

Read the exclusive extract of THE SECRET PLACE

The photo shows a boy who was murdered a year ago. The caption says, 'I KNOW WHO KILLED HIM'.

Hodder & Stoughton

Kind of Cruel

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

When Amber Hewerdine consults a hypnotherapist as a desperate last resort, she doesn't expect that anything much will change.She doesn't expect it to help with her chronic insomnia . . .She doesn't expect to hear herself, under hypnosis, saying words that mean nothing to her: 'Kind, cruel, kind of cruel' - words she has seen somewhere before, if only she could remember where . . .She doesn't expect to be arrested two hours later, as a result of having spoken those words out loud, in connection with the brutal murder of Katharine Allen, a woman she's never heard of . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sophie Hannah Collection 1-3

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The first three novels from bestselling author and queen of psychological suspense, Sophie Hannah: LITTLE FACE, HURTING DISTANCE and THE POINT OF RESCUE.Little FaceShe's only been gone two hours.Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she's never seen before . . . Hurting DistanceThree years ago, something terrible happened to Naomi Jenkins - so terrible that she never told anybody.Now Naomi has another secret - the man she has fallen passionately in love with, unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without trace, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing . . .The Point of RescueSally is watching the news with her husband when she hears a name she ought not to recognise: Mark Bretherick.Last year, when Sally's work trip was cancelled at the last minute, she decided not to tell her husband that the trip had fallen through. Instead, she booked a week off work and treated herself to a secret holiday. All she wanted was a bit of peace - some time to herself - but it didn't work out that way. Because Sally met a man - Mark Bretherick. All the details are the same: where he lives, his job, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. Except that the man on the news is a man Sally has never seen before. And Geraldine and Lucy Bretherick are both dead . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Carrier

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Lasting Damage

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Nicci French and Liane Moriarty.'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house... It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago.Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Other Half Lives

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for readers of Gillian Flynn and Liane Moriarty. 'Utterly gripping' The Times'Thrilling' Sunday TelegraphWhy would anyone confess to a murder that never happened?Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn't believe she deserves: Aidan Seed. Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease.Ruth is confused. She's certain she's heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen - because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Telling Error

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Stuck in a traffic jam, Nicki Clements sees a face she hoped never to see again. It's definitely him, the same police officer, stopping each car on Elmhirst Road. Keen to avoid him, Nicki does a U-turn and makes a panicky escape.Or so she thinks. The next day, Nicki is pulled in for questioning in connection with the murder of Damon Blundy, controversial newspaper columnist and resident of Elmhirst Road. Nicki can't answer any of the questions detectives fire at her. She has no idea why the killer used a knife in such a peculiar way, or why 'HE IS NO LESS DEAD' was painted on Blundy's study wall. And she can't explain why she avoided Elmhirst Road that day without revealing the secret that could ruin her life.Because although Nicki is not guilty of murder, she is far from innocent . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

A Room Swept White

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Hurting Distance

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Point of Rescue

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Pictures Or It Didn't Happen

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Little Face

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is a bestselling crime fiction writer and poet. Her psychological thrillers Little Face, Hurting Distance, The Point of Rescue, The Other Half Lives, A Room Swept White, Lasting Damage, Kind of Cruel,The Carrier and The Telling Error have received critical acclaim and have been translated into more than twenty languages. The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Novel of the Year 2013.Sophie's books have been listed for multiple other industry awards. Little Face was longlisted for the 2007 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the IMPAC Award, Hurting Distance was longlisted for the 2008 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, and The Other Half Lives was shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers' Book of the Year Award and a Barry Award. The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also the author of The Monogram Murders, the first Hercule Poirot mystery to be written and published since Agatha Christie's death and approved by her estate.Sophie's fifth collection of poetry, Pessimism for Beginners, was the Poetry Book Society's Winter Choice in 2007 and was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Award, and in 2004 she won first prize in the Daphne Du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her psychological suspense story The Octopus Nest. Sophie's poetry is studied at GCSE, A-level and degree level across the UK. From 1997 to 1999 she was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge, and between 1999 and 2001 she was a fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford. She is currently a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband and two children.Visit Sophie's website, www.sophiehannah.com, follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/sophiehannahCB1, and find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sophiehannahauthor.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

What if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book... For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?

@sophiehannahcb1

Follow Sophie Hannah on Twitter

For the latest news.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Burning Air

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

When the body of a young girl is found in a remote countryside lane, evidence suggests she was drugged, abused and thrown from a moving van - before being beaten to death. While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks must do the same - but the crime Banks is investigating is the coldest of cases. Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused at the centre of a historical abuse investigation and it's Banks's first task as superintendent to find out the truth.As more women step forward with accounts of Caxton's manipulation, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence. With his investigation uncovering things from the past that would rather stay hidden, he will be led down a path even darker than the one he set out to investigate . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silent Ones

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

He'll do whatever it takes to find his missing sister.Darren Evans was only eleven when his beloved sister Carly and four other teenage girls disappeared, sparking a huge police investigation.Eventually, a woman confessed to their murders. But although she admitted her guilt, Olivia Duvall refused to say what had happened to those five missing girls. Or where their bodies might lie. Ten years later, Darren's family are still no closer to the truth. Desperate to alleviate his parents' heartbreak, Darren gets a job as a cleaner in the psychiatric hospital where Olivia was committed, hoping he can make her tell him his sister's fate once and for all.But playing a killer is a very dangerous game . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ties That Bind

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.