Related to: 'Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror'

by Tana French

Read the exclusive extract of THE SECRET PLACE

The photo shows a boy who was murdered a year ago. The caption says, 'I KNOW WHO KILLED HIM'.

Hodder & Stoughton

Kind of Cruel

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

When Amber Hewerdine consults a hypnotherapist as a desperate last resort, she doesn't expect that anything much will change.She doesn't expect it to help with her chronic insomnia . . .She doesn't expect to hear herself, under hypnosis, saying words that mean nothing to her: 'Kind, cruel, kind of cruel' - words she has seen somewhere before, if only she could remember where . . .She doesn't expect to be arrested two hours later, as a result of having spoken those words out loud, in connection with the brutal murder of Katharine Allen, a woman she's never heard of . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sophie Hannah Collection 1-3

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Lasting Damage

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carrier

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

The Other Half Lives

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

A Room Swept White

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

What if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book... For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?This is the next chilling novel from the queen of psychological crime - a literary puzzle set to unlock the dark side of the mind . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Point of Rescue

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Hurting Distance

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The second stunning thriller from queen of psychological crime, Sophie Hannah, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.'Superbly creepy' Guardian 'Rivetingly original' Sunday Times Sometimes love must kill before it can die. Three years ago, something terrible happened to Naomi Jenkins - so terrible that she never told anybody.Now Naomi has another secret - the man she has fallen passionately in love with, unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without trace, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing.In desperation, Naomi has a crazy idea. If she can't persuade the police that Robert is in danger, perhaps she can convince them that he is a danger to others. Then they will have to look for him - urgently. Naomi knows how to describe in detail the actions of a psychopath. All she needs to do is dig up her own troubled past . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Telling Error

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Little Face

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is a bestselling crime fiction writer and poet. Her psychological thrillers - which include Little Face, Hurting Distance, Kind of Cruel, The Carrier, The Telling Error and A Game for All the Family - have received critical acclaim and have been translated into more than twenty languages. The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year 2013.Sophie's books have been listed for multiple other industry awards. Little Face was longlisted for the 2007 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the IMPAC Award, Hurting Distance was longlisted for the 2008 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, and The Other Half Lives was shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers' Book of the Year Award and a Barry Award. The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also the author of The Monogram Murders, the first Hercule Poirot mystery to be written and published since Agatha Christie's death and approved by her estate.Sophie's fifth collection of poetry, Pessimism for Beginners, was the Poetry Book Society's Winter Choice in 2007 and was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Award, and in 2004 she won first prize in the Daphne Du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her psychological suspense story The Octopus Nest. Sophie's poetry is studied at GCSE, A-level and degree level across the UK. From 1997 to 1999 she was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge, and between 1999 and 2001 she was a fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford. She is currently a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband and two children.Visit Sophie's website, www.sophiehannah.com, follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/sophiehannahCB1, and find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sophiehannahauthor.

@sophiehannahcb1

Follow Sophie Hannah on Twitter

For the latest news.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burning Air

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Pictures Or It Didn't Happen

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Would you trust a complete stranger?After Chloe and her daughter Freya are rescued from disaster by a man who seems too good to be true, Chloe decides she must find him again to thank him. But instead of meeting her knight in shining armour, she comes across a woman called Nadine Caspian who warns her to stay well away from him. The man is dangerous, Nadine claims, and a compulsive liar. Alarmed, Chloe asks her what she means, but Nadine will say no more. Chloe knows that the sensible choice would be to walk away - after all, she doesn't know anything about this man. But she is too curious. What could Nadine have meant? And can Chloe find out the truth without putting herself and her daughter in danger?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silent Ones

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

He'll do whatever it takes to find his missing sister.Darren Evans was only eleven when his beloved sister Carly and four other teenage girls disappeared, sparking a huge police investigation.Eventually, a woman confessed to their murders. But although she admitted her guilt, Olivia Duvall refused to say what had happened to those five missing girls. Or where their bodies might lie. Ten years later, Darren's family are still no closer to the truth. Desperate to alleviate his parents' heartbreak, Darren gets a job as a cleaner in the psychiatric hospital where Olivia was committed, hoping he can make her tell him his sister's fate once and for all.But playing a killer is a very dangerous game . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

The perfect read for fans of The Widow, Missing Presumed and Disclaimer. Whose word will you take?The path of every eclipse can be predicted from now until the end of time. Kit and Laura, young and in love, pledge to travel the globe and see as many as possible together. They have no idea of the darkness that will follow. At a festival in Cornwall, in the hushed moments after the first eclipse they share, Laura interrupts a man and a woman. She knows she saw something terrible. But the man denies it. Later, in a panic, Laura tells a little white lie - which changes four lives irreparably. When the victim turns up on their doorstep, the truth seems to vanish ever further into shadow. As gratitude spills into dangerous obsession, Kit and Laura simply have to run. But they can't hide forever. With another eclipse on the horizon, the past is closing in on them again. Telling Kit the truth will cost Laura her marriage. But keeping the secret could cost them both their lives. And the person they fear the most knows exactly where they'll be...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ties That Bind

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly