Related to: 'How Do We Fix This Mess? The Economic Price of Having it all and and the Route to Lasting Prosperity'

Hodder & Stoughton

The New Capitalism

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston

It's been the worst financial and economic crisis since the 1930s and we're not through it yet. For banks, it's been a debacle like no other. To keep banks alive, $15 trillion of financial aid has been pledged to them by taxpayers - that's more than $2000 for every person on the planet. But believe it or not, it could all have been even worse, an economic Armageddon. If the old capitalism failed, have we really learned anything? Or are we frantically trying to return to our bad old business ways? In the West, we've been living beyond our means for years. Do any of us in the US and UK really understand the painful implications of the new economic reality, that we can no longer borrow as much as we'd like to maintain our living standards? In Who Runs Britain, Robert Peston warned that there was a serious economic storm on the way. Now, in The New Capitalism, he exposes the naiveté and complacency of bankers and the authorities when confronted with the unmistakable signs that calamity was on the horizon. Peston will also show how the onset of that storm has changed the economic landscape forever and what that means for all of us - the jobs that will be available, the skills we'll need, how we'll save, how our banks and big companies will be run, the new compact between the public and private sectors. Just like Who Runs Britain, this is a book we can't afford to ignore.

Robert Peston

Robert Peston is the BBC's Economics Editor. Prior to joining the BBC, he was Political Editor and Financial Editor of the Financial Times, City Editor of the Sunday Telegraph and a columnist for the New Statesman and Sunday Times (inter alia). He has won numerous awards for his journalism, including Journalist of the Year and Scoop of the Year (twice) from the Royal Television Society, Performer of the Year from the Broadcasting Press Guild, Broadcaster of the Year and Journalist of the Year from the Wincott Foundation and Business Journalist of the Year from the London Press Club. Peston has published two critically acclaimed books, WHO RUNS BRITAIN?, his best-selling account of who is to blame for the economic and financial crisis of 2007-9, and BROWN'S BRITAIN, a biography of Gordon Brown and analysis of the New Labour government. His prize-winning blog - Peston's Picks - which has more than 800,000 readers, can be found at www.bbc.co.uk/robertpeston. He is the founder of Speakers for Schools (www.speakers4schools.org), a pro bono educational service which organises free talks from inspirational speakers for students at state schools. He is a trustee of the Education and Employers Taskforce. He is married to the writer Siân Busby. You can follow Robert on twitter at www.Twitter.com/Peston

Hodder Paperbacks

Who Runs Britain?

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston

On 13 September 2007, Robert Peston broke the news that Northern Rock had become a victim of the global credit crunch and was seeking an emergency loan from the Bank of England. It was the latest in a long line of scoops by this award-winning journalist. Over the weeks that followed, the Government found itself exposed to the Rock to the tune of 57 billion, or almost £2000 for every taxpayer.As Robert Peston shows in his fascinating new book, the seeds for the collapse of Northern Rock and the upheavals in the financial markets were sown years before. WHO RUNS BRITAIN? is the first time anyone has drawn all the threads together to weave a story that's rich in extraordinary characters and outrageous feats of economic bravado. This book is about the widening gap between the super-rich and the rest of us. It explores and explodes the myth that the financial creativity of those who are amassing these vast fortunes is good for the wider economy and for all of us. Whether you're a financial expert or just have a bank account, WHO RUNS BRITAIN? is a book you must read.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.

A blog by Robert Peston

How Do We Fix This Mess?

Hodder author and BBC Business Editor, Robert Peston, blogs about the lessons we can learn from his new book, HOW DO WE FIX THIS MESS?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost Continent

Gavin Hewitt
Authors:
Gavin Hewitt
@Peston

Follow Robert Peston on Twitter

For updates straight from the author.

Robert Peston interview in the Evening Standard

Robert Peston ... life in the eye of a perfect storm

Talking to Alison Roberts about his latest book HOW DO WE FIX THIS MESS?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dragonbone Chair

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone of Farewell

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Following a brutal civil war, Osten Ard has been crushed under the rule of the two villainous High Kings. A single hope remains: if the rebels can find the three swords of legend - Memory, Sorrow and Thorn - they might be able to bring the Storm King and evil King Elias down.Once but a humble kitchen-boy, Simon is now Simon Snowlock, dragonslayer and bearer of the mythical sword Thorn. But Simon is more alone than ever before: his friends have been imprisoned and his liege lord, Prince Josua, has been exiled. And the Storm King may also be in possession of one of the swords...A single chance remains: if Simon can deliver Thorn to Joshua and lead his followers to the Stone of Farewell, the rebels may be able to muster the forces necessary to rise up against Elias and the Storm King. But no one knows where the Stone of Farewell is. Or, indeed, what it is...In STONE OF FAREWELL, Tad Williams sets his characters against impossible odds - and proves that the beloved, internationally-bestselling DRAGONBONE CHAIR was no fluke, but one of the greatest fantasy novels of all time.

Hodder & Stoughton

To Green Angel Tower Part 1

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

In order for the Storm King can cement his power over Osten Ard, he must find and defeat the rebel forces massing against him. But the rebels, led by the exiled Prince Josua, have rallied at the Stone of Farewell and are ready to fight the Storm King with every power they can muster. The key to their victory lies in finding the third sword of legend, Memory - but the sword has been lost for ages.Lost, that is, until Simon Snowlock realises that he knows exactly where the sword is and how to recover it. The only problem: an undead army, bolstered by powerful magic, lies between him and his destination. It will take every ounce of Simon's courage and intelligence to journey to and then recover the great sword Memory and bring peace to Osten Ard.If Simon's quest is to have any hope, Josua must move against the Storm King himself - a journey that will take him across endless seas, through ancient forests and into the stronghold of the Storm King himself.This is the first half of the the epic final volume in Tad Williams' breathtaking, beloved series Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

Hodder & Stoughton

To Green Angel Tower Part 2

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

Lady Catherine and the Real Downton Abbey

The Countess Of Carnarvon
Authors:
The Countess Of Carnarvon

Hodder Paperbacks

Requiem

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

It is 1295. The Christian empire in the Holy Land lies in ruins and Will Campbell has barely escaped with his life.After years of fighting in the desert sun - and secretly working for peace with the Brethren - Will returns to Scotland to find his homeland under attack by King Edward I of England.Soon caught up in a bloody conflict, Will is unaware that an even more ominous threat is rising. A warrior king on the throne of France has a desire for supremacy and will stop at nothing to fulfil his twisted ambitions.A stunning, epic novel of war, savagery and the fall of the Templars in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Three

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz
Hodder Paperbacks

My Heroes: Extraordinary Courage, Exceptional People

Ranulph Fiennes
Authors:
Ranulph Fiennes

In MY HEROES the 'world's greatest living explorer' (Guinness Book of Records), writes about the people who have inspired him - from explorers to policemen, families to freedom fighters. Wherever in the world Ranulph gives one of his lectures or motivational speeches, someone always asks: 'Who inspired you to do all the crazy things you've done?' For the first time he explores this idea by revealing his own personal heroes and what lessons their actions may have taught him in his own often hazardous profession.This book describes the extraordinary and often horrific events that led to these ordinary individuals becoming Ranulph's great heroes. From polar survivor to knifed-and-beaten policeman, from a woman missionary to a special forces soldier, these wonderful people will make you proud to be part of the human race.

Hodder & Stoughton

Those Above: The Empty Throne Book 1

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky
Hodder & Stoughton

A Man Lies Dreaming

Lavie Tidhar
Authors:
Lavie Tidhar

Deep in the heart of history's most infamous concentration camp, a man lies dreaming. His name is Shomer, and before the war he was a pulp fiction author. Now, to escape the brutal reality of life in Auschwitz, Shomer spends his nights imagining another world - a world where a disgraced former dictator now known only as Wolf ekes out a miserable existence as a low-rent PI in London's grimiest streets. An extraordinary story of revenge and redemption, A Man Lies Dreaming is the unforgettable testament to the power of imagination.

FaithWords

When 'Spiritual but Not Religious' is Not Enough

Lillian Daniel
Authors:
Lillian Daniel
Hodder Paperbacks

Tenacious

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin