Related to: 'How Do We Fix This Mess? The Economic Price of Having it all and and the Route to Lasting Prosperity'

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.

Hodder Paperbacks

Who Runs Britain?

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston
An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

Chapter One: A Morning in Vermillion

SHADES OF GREY, by Jasper Fforde

Read the first chapter of Jasper Fforde's brilliant SHADES OF GREY.

Hodder & Stoughton

The New Capitalism

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston

It's been the worst financial and economic crisis since the 1930s and we're not through it yet. For banks, it's been a debacle like no other. To keep banks alive, $15 trillion of financial aid has been pledged to them by taxpayers - that's more than $2000 for every person on the planet. But believe it or not, it could all have been even worse, an economic Armageddon. If the old capitalism failed, have we really learned anything? Or are we frantically trying to return to our bad old business ways? In the West, we've been living beyond our means for years. Do any of us in the US and UK really understand the painful implications of the new economic reality, that we can no longer borrow as much as we'd like to maintain our living standards? In Who Runs Britain, Robert Peston warned that there was a serious economic storm on the way. Now, in The New Capitalism, he exposes the naiveté and complacency of bankers and the authorities when confronted with the unmistakable signs that calamity was on the horizon. Peston will also show how the onset of that storm has changed the economic landscape forever and what that means for all of us - the jobs that will be available, the skills we'll need, how we'll save, how our banks and big companies will be run, the new compact between the public and private sectors. Just like Who Runs Britain, this is a book we can't afford to ignore.

A blog by Robert Peston

How Do We Fix This Mess?

Hodder author and BBC Business Editor, Robert Peston, blogs about the lessons we can learn from his new book, HOW DO WE FIX THIS MESS?

Chapter One

TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's acclaimed TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, now a major film.

We asked authors published in 2013 to share their favourite books of the year!

What's your book of the year?

Take a look at their picks . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Life and Loves of a He Devil

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Chapter One: Mary

SNAKE ROPES, by Jess Richards

Read the first chapter of Jess Richards' SNAKE ROPES.

Hodder Paperbacks

Front Row

Lisa Armstrong
Authors:
Lisa Armstrong

Janie Pember gave up work to look after her children, but when her unreliable husband decides to take time out in South America to find himself, she has to find herself a job. Janie's lost most of her contacts since she quit work, but her best friend Cassie, the owner of a model agency, quickly fixes her up with an interview for the job of fashion editor on the International Gazette. Janie's sure she won't get it, and then when she does, sure she won't enjoy it, but she soon finds out that five years makes not a bit of difference in the fashion industry. And though she'd much rather be gardening (and trying to get her husband back), Janie finds herself insidiously drawn back into the senseless world of fashion.

Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.

Hodder Paperbacks

Hunt For The Bear

Derek Haas
Authors:
Derek Haas

When he takes a contract, death follows.Notorious hitman Columbus is known in the trade as a silver bear: an expert assassin who earns top fees because he never defaults on a contract.Columbus believes himself immune to the pressures of his chosen life. But after a mission to take out a prominent mark on the streets of Paris, suddenly Columbus finds himself in a new position - as a target.Taut, intense, and action-packed, HUNT FOR THE BEAR is a cinematic thriller for fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child, and stars the same lead character as Haas's tense and disturbing debut thriller THE SILVER BEAR.

Chapter One

THE YELLOW BIRDS by Kevin Powers

Read the first chapter of Kevin Powers' THE YELLOW BIRDS - described by the Guardian as 'a must-read book'.

Chapter One: Fellow Travellers

A STREET CAT NAMED BOB, by James Bowen

Read the first chapter of James Bowen's inspiring A STREET CAT NAMED BOB.

Hodder & Stoughton

Death in Sardinia

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

Florence, 1965. A man is found murdered, a pair of scissors stuck through his throat. Only one thing is known about him - he was a loan shark, who ruined and blackmailed the vulnerable men and women who would come to him for help.Inspector Bordelli prepares to launch a murder investigation. But the case will be a tough one for him, arousing mixed emotions: the desire for justice conflicting with a deep hostility for the victim. And he is missing his young police sidekick, Piras, who is convalescing at his parents' home in Sardinia.But Piras hasn't been recuperating for long before he too has a mysterious death to deal with . . .

@Peston

Follow Robert Peston on Twitter

For updates straight from the author.

Robert Peston interview in the Evening Standard

Robert Peston ... life in the eye of a perfect storm

Talking to Alison Roberts about his latest book HOW DO WE FIX THIS MESS?

Robert Peston

Robert Peston is Political Editor for ITV News. Until the end of 2015 he was the BBC's Economics Editor; and from 2006 to 2013, he was BBC Business Editor. As a journalist for more than 30 years, he has been Political Editor and Financial Editor of the Financial Times, City Editor of the Sunday Telegraph and a columnist for the New Statesman and Sunday Times (inter alia). Peston has won more than 30 awards for his journalism, including Journalist of the Year and Scoop of the Year (twice) from the Royal Television Society, Performer of the Year from the Broadcasting Press Guild, Broadcaster of the Year and Journalist of the Year from the Wincott Foundation and Business Journalist of the Year from the London Press Club. Peston has published three critically acclaimed books, How Do We Fix This Mess? The Economic Price of Having It All, and the Route to Lasting Prosperity, Who Runs Britain?, his best-selling account of who is to blame for the economic and financial crisis of 2007-9, and Brown's Britain, a biography of Gordon Brown and analysis of the New Labour government. He is the founder of Speakers for Schools (www.speakers4schools.org), an education charity which organises free talks from inspirational speakers for students at state schools. He was married to the writer Siân Busby who died in 2012. You can read, watch and follow Robert at itv.com/peston and facebook.com/pestonitv and twitter.com/peston

Blog

Visit Robert's Personal Blog

Visit Robert Peston's prize-winning BBC blog, in which he analyses, discusses, and explains the issues in business that matter to us all.