Related to: 'How Do We Fix This Mess? The Economic Price of Having it all and and the Route to Lasting Prosperity'

Teach Yourself

Your Brain and You

Nicky Hayes
Authors:
Nicky Hayes
Yellow Kite

Unf*ck Yourself

Gary John Bishop
Authors:
Gary John Bishop
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Compulsive, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE is a thrilling psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Linda Green, Louise Jensen and Jenny Blackhurst.

Hodder Paperbacks

Home is Burning

Dan Marshall
Authors:
Dan Marshall

'An incredibly personal story ... sad, but unbelievably funny' - Claudia Winkleman, BBC Radio 2 Arts Show'This memoir is gasp-out-loud, offensively funny, touching and a sure thing for anyone who likes David Sedaris - but with more Mormons' - RedAt twenty-five, Dan left his 'spoiled white asshole' life in Los Angeles to look after his dying parents in Salt Lake City, Utah. His mother, who had already been battling cancer on and off for close to 15 years, had taken a turn for the worse. His father, a devoted marathon runner and adored parent, had been diagnosed with motor neurone disease which was quickly eroding his body. Dan's four siblings were already home, caring for their parents and resenting Dan for not doing the same. Home is Burning tells the story of Dan's year at home in Salt Lake City, as he reunites with his eclectic family -the only non-Mormon family of seven in the entire town - all of them trying their best to be there for the father who had always been there for them.

John Murray

France

John Julius Norwich
Authors:
John Julius Norwich

A witty history of 2000 years of French history from legendary popular historian John Julius NorwichI can still feel, as if it were yesterday, the excitement of my first Channel crossing (as a child of nearly 7) in September 1936; the regiment of porters, smelling asphyxiatingly of garlic in their blue-green blousons; the raucous sound all around me of spoken French; the immense fields of Normandy strangely devoid of hedges; then the Gare du Nord at twilight, the policemen with their képis and their little snow-white batons; and my first sight of the Eiffel Tower...This book is written in the belief that the average English-speaking man or woman has remarkably little knowledge of French history. We may know a bit about Napoleon or Joan of Arc or Louis XIV, but for most of us that's about it. In my own three schools we were taught only about the battles we won: Crécy and Poitiers, Agincourt and Waterloo. The rest was silence. So here is my attempt to fill in the blanks...John Julius Norwich (at 88) has finally written the book he always wanted to write, the extremely colourful story of the country he loves best. From frowning Roman generals and belligerent Gallic chieftains, to Charlemagne (hated by generations of French children taught that he invented schools) through Marie Antoinette and the storming of the Bastille to Vichy, the Resistance and beyond, FRANCE is packed with heroes and villains, adventures and battles, romance and revolution. Full of memorable stories and racy anecdotes, this is the perfect introduction to the country that has inspired the rest of the world to live, dress, eat -- and love better.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shadow Doctor

Adrian Plass
Authors:
Adrian Plass

The Shadow Doctor isn't your usual kind of doctor. Sure, you can bring him your problems - but the chances are his solutions will blow your mind. This man can see into your soul, and the cures he prescribes don't come from the pharmacy. If you have fears you just cannot face, wounds you can't even bear to remember - if you've been abused, ignored, damaged by all life throws at you - the Shadow Doctor is here to help.But the Shadow Doctor has shades of his own, and the work of helping others may be the only thing keeping him afloat. Can he stay ahead of the demons that torment him long enough to help those who need him?

Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday

The hunt is on for a serial killer in a thrilling festive crime novel.It looks like a regular advent calendar. Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors...and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one. The police hope it's a prank. Because if it isn't, a murderer has just surfaced - someone who's been killing for twenty years. But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station? As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them...It's shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.

Hodder & Stoughton

WTF

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston
Hodder & Stoughton

100 Nasty Women of History

Hannah Jewell
Authors:
Hannah Jewell
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell
Coronet

Safe

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

In 2016, Chris Ryan's family was targeted by a terrorist cell. He didn't know who they were, or where they might strike. All he knew was that he wanted to keep his family safe.In SAFE, Chris Ryan has compiled all the personal security expertise he acquired during his time serving with the Regiment - he was awarded the military medal for his quick-thinking and survival instincts. He reveals the skills that kept him safe working undercover in Northern Ireland, on the dangerous streets of central Africa and in the war zones of the Middle East. He explains how civilians can employ these techniques to keep themselves:· Safe on the streets and in their vehicles· Safe in a fight or in the midst of a terror incident· Safe on aircraft or in hostage situations· Safe from cyber attacks· Safe in riots· Safe from sexual predators and much more. Chris Ryan analyses real-life incidents, such as the Manchester Arena bombing, the London Bridge terror attack and the Tunisian beach shootings, and explains how ordinary people should act if they find themselves in similar scenarios. And he reveals fascinating stories, never before told, about life in the Regiment and the dangers faced by SAS soldiers. In a world of ever-present, ever-changing threats, this is a book that will empower you to take personal responsibility for your own security.

Hodder Paperbacks

Generation Next: The Takeover

Oli White
Authors:
Oli White
Yellow Kite

The State Of Affairs

Esther Perel
Authors:
Esther Perel
Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Sceptre

Crimes of the Father

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Hodder & Stoughton

The New Capitalism

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston

It's been the worst financial and economic crisis since the 1930s and we're not through it yet. For banks, it's been a debacle like no other. To keep banks alive, $15 trillion of financial aid has been pledged to them by taxpayers - that's more than $2000 for every person on the planet. But believe it or not, it could all have been even worse, an economic Armageddon. If the old capitalism failed, have we really learned anything? Or are we frantically trying to return to our bad old business ways? In the West, we've been living beyond our means for years. Do any of us in the US and UK really understand the painful implications of the new economic reality, that we can no longer borrow as much as we'd like to maintain our living standards? In Who Runs Britain, Robert Peston warned that there was a serious economic storm on the way. Now, in The New Capitalism, he exposes the naiveté and complacency of bankers and the authorities when confronted with the unmistakable signs that calamity was on the horizon. Peston will also show how the onset of that storm has changed the economic landscape forever and what that means for all of us - the jobs that will be available, the skills we'll need, how we'll save, how our banks and big companies will be run, the new compact between the public and private sectors. Just like Who Runs Britain, this is a book we can't afford to ignore.

Teach Yourself

Complete Polish Beginner to Intermediate Course

Joanna Michalak-Gray, Nigel Gotteri
Authors:
Joanna Michalak-Gray, Nigel Gotteri
Hodder Paperbacks

Who Runs Britain?

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Self-Help Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon