Search results for: 'Mulholland Books on Facebook'

Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

'Reading Joe R. Lansdale is like listening to a favorite uncle who just happens to be a fabulous storyteller' Dean KoontzHap and Leonard are an unlikely pair - Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough-as-nails black gay Vietnam vet and Republican - but they're the closest friend either of them has in the world. Hap is celebrating his wedding to his longtime girlfriend, when their backyard barbecue is interrupted by a couple of Pentecostal white supremacists. They're not too happy to see Leonard, and no one is happy to see them, but they have a problem and they want Hap and Leonard to solve it.Judith Mulhaney's daughter, Jackrabbit, has been missing for five years. That is, she's been missing from her family for five years, but she's been missing from everybody, including the local no-goods they knew ran with her, for a few months. Despite their misgivings, Hap and Leonard take the case. It isn't long until they find themselves mixed up in a revivalist cult believing that Jesus will return flanked by an army of lizard-men, and solving a murder to boot. With Lansdale's trademark humour, sharp dialogue, and plenty of righteous beatdowns, you won't want to miss Hap and Leonard's latest.

Mulholland Books

Red Right Hand

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm
Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard investigate a racially motivated murder that threatens to tear apart their East Texas town.Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, is recovering from a life-threatening stab wound. He's hoping to take it easy, but then Louise Elton arrives with a job... Months earlier, a bully cop pulled over and sexually harassed Louise's daughter, Charm. When he started stalking her, her brother Jamar tried to get evidence on him. The next thing Louise knew, Jamar got in a fight and was killed by local hoods. It doesn't add up: he was a straight-A student, destined for better things, until he began to ask too many questions about the racist police force. Leonard, a tough black gay Vietnam vet and Republican, joins Hap in the investigation, and they stumble upon the racial divides that have shaped their Eastern Texas town. But if anyone can navigate these pitfalls and bring the killers to justice, it's them.Filled with Lansdale's trademark snappy dialogue, colourful characters, and relentless pacing, Rusty Puppy is Joe Lansdale at his page-turning best.

Mulholland Books

Honky Tonk Samurai

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

The Killing Kind

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm
Mulholland Books

Close to Home

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Deserves to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Bravo

Greg Rucka
Authors:
Greg Rucka

In the wake of a failed attack on America's premier theme park which put his own daughter at risk, Special Forces operator Jad Bell is sent after the man who arranged it. But it soon becomes clear that capturing him is just the start: his employer, known only as the Architect, has already set something far worse in motion. At the centre of it all are two women deep under cover. One is an American spy whose intel is the only hope they have, but who has lived a lie for so long she cannot be trusted. And the other is a woman as beautiful as she is deadly, already living in the States, and poised to execute the Architect's plans at a moment's notice. The stakes are even higher, the clock is ticking, and this time the enemies are hiding in plain sight...

Mulholland Books

The Competition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

The Thicket

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

Killer Ambition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

Edge of Dark Water

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

May Lynn dreamed of being a movie star. But her future was short, and it wasn't on the silver screen. It was down in the dark depths of the Sabine River with a sewing machine wired to her feet. In Depression-era Texas, a better life is hard to come by. May Lynn's friends Sue Ellen, Terry and Jinx know they need to leave, and now they have a reason - they're going to take May's ashes all the way to Hollywood. But silent obstacles stand in their way: a family's worth of betrayal, a fortune's worth of stolen gold, and a legendary killer who'll stop at nothing...Joe R. Lansdale is one of the great American crime writers and Edge of Dark Water shows him at his finest. If you haven't read him yet, you're missing out.

Mulholland Books

Gun Machine

Warren Ellis
Authors:
Warren Ellis

This morning Detective John Tallow was bored with his job. Then there was this naked guy with a shotgun, and his partner getting killed, and now Tallow has a real problem: an apartment full of guns. Old guns. Modified guns. Arranged in rows and spirals on the floor and walls. Hundreds of them. Each weapon is tied to a single unsolved murder. Which means Tallow has uncovered two decades' worth of homicides that no one knew to connect and a killer unlike anything that came before. Tallow's bosses don't want him to solve the case. The murderer just wants him to die. But there's a pattern hiding behind the deaths, and if Tallow can figure it out he might even make it out alive.

Mulholland Books

Alpha

Greg Rucka
Authors:
Greg Rucka

Jonathan 'Jad' Bell has spent a lifetime in the US army. He can be relied on to get the job done, whatever happens, whatever the cost. So when someone needs to go undercover at the nation's biggest amusement park, Jad is the obvious choice. Aside from dealing with fights and missing children, his main responsibility is to prevent the nightmare scenario from coming to pass. This is the nightmare scenario:A group of well-trained, highly motivated terrorists infiltrate the park. They cut off all escape routes. They take hostages. They ensure every camera in the world is trained on Wilsonville...and then they turn it into a bloodbath.And on the day the nightmare becomes real, Jad and his team are all that stands between a band of ruthless killers and thousands of innocent people... including Jad's estranged wife and daughter.

Mulholland Books

Guilt By Degrees

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark

The gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci.Rachel Knight has never been one to let justice slide from the grip of the law. So when a deputy district attorney mishandles a murder case and then shrugs it off - the victim was a homeless guy, so who cares? - she decides to take the case on herself. With the help of Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel soon finds a missing piece of the puzzle. And a new mystery: the homeless man's death is somehow connected to the vicious murder of a LAPD cop a year earlier. The prime suspect in the murder was acquitted - but now Rachel and Bailey are hot on the trail of new leads. What Rachel doesn't know is that she's being watched. Someone is following her every move, and just waiting for a chance to strike...

Mulholland Books

If I'm Dead: A Rachel Knight short story

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark

An all-new short story from Marcia Clark, IF I'M DEAD shows Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight in her element - the courtroom - fighting to make the jury convict a man who killed his wife. The one snag? No body...IF I'M DEAD is a tense and compelling account of a high-stakes trial. Extracts from the two Rachel Knight novels are also included!

Mulholland Books

Guilt By Association

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark

When Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight's journey home is interrupted by screaming sirens, she decides to follow them. But what she finds when she arrives at a sleazy LA motel shatters her world: her trusted colleague Jake lies dead beside the body of a teenage male prostitute. The police say murder/suicide. Rachel's gut says different. Her search for proof will take her through the dark and tangled city, from its wealthy suburbs to its violent heart. And a truth so dangerous it could kill her.

Mulholland Books on Facebook

Find us on Facebook at Mulholland Uncovered.

14th June 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Here at Mulholland, we're busy gearing up for the publication of a very exciting book indeed. Lexicon is the new novel from Max Barry, the author of cult hit Jennifer Government, and has been described by SciFi Now as "highly entertaining and engrossing". It follows Emily Ruff as she enters into an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will, as well as Wil Parke who doesn't know why he's immune to their powers, only that he has to run from them. You can read tor.com's review of Lexicon here: Say the Magic Word: Lexicon by Max Barry As you can imagine, the power of words is the main theme of Lexicon, and this is illustrated brilliantly by intriguing excerpts scattered throughout the book. You can read a selection of them on Facebook, in handy picture form that are perfect for sharing. Words Are Weapons on Facebook To see if she's good enough to become a Poet, Emily is asked a series of strange questions. We'd love to see how you'd answer them, so take a look at the link below. Could you become a Poet? on Facebook Lexicon publishes in hardback on the 20th June and we are going to be shouting about it for all of next week. An excerpt will be available on the Mulholland Uncovered Facebook page on Monday, so we hope you check it out!

17th May 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Welcome to the new Mulholland newsletter! This week, we're talking all about one of our most recent releases; Murder As A Fine Art by David Morrell. The gripping thriller is set in the gaslit streets of Victorian London and stars notorious author-turned-detective Thomas de Quincey. Forty three years after the Ratcliffe Highway murders brought London to the verge of panic, is seems that someone is using De Quincey's essay on the subject as inspiration for horrific murders… and De Quincey is determined to uncover the truth. In this special blog written for us, Morrell talks about the origins of the book and how a “long-ago course in nineteenth- century English literature” inspired him to research De Quincey; a real life writer who was also a notorious drug user. Adventures with the Opium-Eater Our next article comes from the American Mulholland team and features Morrell in conversation with Robert Morrison, author of Thomas De Quincey's biography. It gives some fascinating insight into the author's life and writings. Thomas De Quincey and Murder as a Fine Art: A Conversation with David Morrell and Robert Morrison In this article with Publishers Weekly, David Morrell gives us a little background into the Ratcliffe Highway murders, which feature heavily in the book and caused panic across London and the rest of England like never before. If Once a Man Indulges Himself in Murder... PW Talks with David Morrell Finally, we have something a little bit different. Shot by the US Mulholland team, this short video sees Morrell talking about Thomas De Quincey and is fascinating whether you’ve read the book or not. David Morrell on Thomas De Quincey That wraps up this week's Mulholland newsletter! If you've read Murder As A Fine Art, be sure to let us know what you thought by getting in touch either on Facebook or Twitter, and we'll see you next week!