Search results for: 'Mulholland Books on Facebook'

Mulholland Books

The Elephant of Surprise

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard are an unlikely pair - Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard - a tough-as-nails Black, gay, Vietnam vet and Republican - but they're the closest friend either of them has in the world. After years of crime-solving companionship, something's changed: Hap, recently married to their P.I. boss, Brett, is now a family man. Amidst the worst flood East Texas has seen in years, the two run across a woman who's had her tongue nearly cut out, pursued by a heavily armed pair of goons. Though she can't talk much, on account of the tongue, it turns out the girl survived a mob hit, and the boss has come to clean up the mess. On a chase that blows even the East Texas swampgrass back, Hap and Leonard must save the girl, and vanquish her foes, before the foes get them first. With a new case to solve, and a brand-new challenge to their relationship, will Hap and Leonard's friendship survive? Will Hap and Leonard survive?With Lansdale's trademark humor, whip-smart dialogue, and plenty of ass-kicking adventures to be had, you won't want to miss Hap and Leonard's latest.

Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson

A gripping thriller about fake friendships and the truth that lies behind the Facebook page, for fans of The Girlfriend and Friend Request.We all know someone like Becca. She has the job everyone wants, a designer wardrobe, a hot-shot lawyer boyfriend, holidays to exotic locations. And she flaunts her perfect life all over social media. It drove her colleague Lizzie mad, but she couldn't stop looking. They were never really friends - and yet Lizzie knew everything about her. Or did she? When chance, and a terrible mistake, pulls Lizzie back into Becca's orbit years after they lost touch, she'll realise that you can't always believe what you see online... and that finding out the truth might be the worst thing you can do. There's no such thing as a perfect life. Only a perfect lie.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Mulholland Books

Honky Tonk Samurai

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

The Killing Kind

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm
Mulholland Books

Close to Home

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

HOME IS WHERE THE FEAR IS...The house where Sarah McAdams grew up has always terrified her. But now she's moved back with her daughters, determined to put her childhood fears behind her. It's harder than she thought. Increasingly haunted by the past, Sarah soon realises that the present has its own threats. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing... Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels the house's walls closing in on her once more. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real danger. And only by confronting the terrifying truth can she protect her children from a nightmare that is roaring back to life...

Mulholland Books

Deserves to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Bravo

Greg Rucka
Authors:
Greg Rucka

She is undercover. She is pretending to be in love. She is ready to attack. She is undercover. She is pretending to be in love. She is ready to protect. In the aftermath of a failed plot against America, Jad Bell and his team are sent after those behind it. But they can only find the middle man, not the mastermind. Something far worse is coming. And at the heart of it all are two women: an American spy and a terrorist operative, both living lies so deep they cannot even trust themselves. The stakes are higher, the clock is ticking, and the enemies are hiding in plain sight...

Mulholland Books

The Competition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

The Thicket

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

Killer Ambition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

Gun Machine

Warren Ellis
Authors:
Warren Ellis

This morning Detective John Tallow was bored with his job. Then there was this naked guy with a shotgun, and his partner getting killed, and now Tallow has a real problem: an apartment full of guns. Old guns. Modified guns. Arranged in rows and spirals on the floor and walls. Hundreds of them. Each weapon is tied to a single unsolved murder. Which means Tallow has uncovered two decades' worth of homicides that no one knew to connect and a killer unlike anything that came before. Tallow's bosses don't want him to solve the case. The murderer just wants him to die. But there's a pattern hiding behind the deaths, and if Tallow can figure it out he might even make it out alive.

Mulholland Books

Alpha

Greg Rucka
Authors:
Greg Rucka

Jonathan 'Jad' Bell has spent a lifetime in the US army. He can be relied on to get the job done, whatever happens, whatever the cost. So when someone needs to go undercover at the nation's biggest amusement park, Jad is the obvious choice. Aside from dealing with fights and missing children, his main responsibility is to prevent the nightmare scenario from coming to pass. This is the nightmare scenario:A group of well-trained, highly motivated terrorists infiltrate the park. They cut off all escape routes. They take hostages. They ensure every camera in the world is trained on Wilsonville...and then they turn it into a bloodbath.And on the day the nightmare becomes real, Jad and his team are all that stands between a band of ruthless killers and thousands of innocent people... including Jad's estranged wife and daughter.

Mulholland Books

Guilt By Degrees

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

Edge of Dark Water

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

May Lynn was a pretty girl from a mean family who dreamed of becoming a film star. Now she's dead - her body dredged up from the Sabine River, bound with wire and weighted down.Her best friend, Sue Ellen, has a family meaner than May's and a yearning for something greater than she's been given. She thinks the least she can do for her friend is take her ashes to Hollywood, and place them on her favourite actor's grave.But May Lynn's diary holds a secret: the location of a large sum of money. What seems like a stroke of fortune has disastrous consequences, and Sue Ellen's escape is about to get more complicated than she'd ever imagined.

Mulholland Books

Guilt By Association

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark

When Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight's journey home is interrupted by screaming sirens, she decides to follow them. But what she finds when she arrives at a sleazy LA motel shatters her world: her trusted colleague Jake lies dead beside the body of a teenage male prostitute. The police say murder/suicide. Rachel's gut says different. Her search for proof will take her through the dark and tangled city, from its wealthy suburbs to its violent heart. And a truth so dangerous it could kill her.

Mulholland Books on Facebook

Find us on Facebook at Mulholland Uncovered.

14th June 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Here at Mulholland, we're busy gearing up for the publication of a very exciting book indeed. Lexicon is the new novel from Max Barry, the author of cult hit Jennifer Government, and has been described by SciFi Now as "highly entertaining and engrossing". It follows Emily Ruff as she enters into an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will, as well as Wil Parke who doesn't know why he's immune to their powers, only that he has to run from them. You can read tor.com's review of Lexicon here: Say the Magic Word: Lexicon by Max Barry As you can imagine, the power of words is the main theme of Lexicon, and this is illustrated brilliantly by intriguing excerpts scattered throughout the book. You can read a selection of them on Facebook, in handy picture form that are perfect for sharing. Words Are Weapons on Facebook To see if she's good enough to become a Poet, Emily is asked a series of strange questions. We'd love to see how you'd answer them, so take a look at the link below. Could you become a Poet? on Facebook Lexicon publishes in hardback on the 20th June and we are going to be shouting about it for all of next week. An excerpt will be available on the Mulholland Uncovered Facebook page on Monday, so we hope you check it out!

17th May 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Welcome to the new Mulholland newsletter! This week, we're talking all about one of our most recent releases; Murder As A Fine Art by David Morrell. The gripping thriller is set in the gaslit streets of Victorian London and stars notorious author-turned-detective Thomas de Quincey. Forty three years after the Ratcliffe Highway murders brought London to the verge of panic, is seems that someone is using De Quincey's essay on the subject as inspiration for horrific murders… and De Quincey is determined to uncover the truth. In this special blog written for us, Morrell talks about the origins of the book and how a “long-ago course in nineteenth- century English literature” inspired him to research De Quincey; a real life writer who was also a notorious drug user. Adventures with the Opium-Eater Our next article comes from the American Mulholland team and features Morrell in conversation with Robert Morrison, author of Thomas De Quincey's biography. It gives some fascinating insight into the author's life and writings. Thomas De Quincey and Murder as a Fine Art: A Conversation with David Morrell and Robert Morrison In this article with Publishers Weekly, David Morrell gives us a little background into the Ratcliffe Highway murders, which feature heavily in the book and caused panic across London and the rest of England like never before. If Once a Man Indulges Himself in Murder... PW Talks with David Morrell Finally, we have something a little bit different. Shot by the US Mulholland team, this short video sees Morrell talking about Thomas De Quincey and is fascinating whether you’ve read the book or not. David Morrell on Thomas De Quincey That wraps up this week's Mulholland newsletter! If you've read Murder As A Fine Art, be sure to let us know what you thought by getting in touch either on Facebook or Twitter, and we'll see you next week!