Related to: 'Love Legends Around the World'

Two Roads

Paradise Gardens

Monty Don, Derry Moore
Authors:
Monty Don, Derry Moore
Hodder Paperbacks

The Venetian Contract

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

Like her bestselling THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO, Marina Fiorato's fifth unforgettable historical love story is set in Venice. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into Piazza San Marco. He brings a gift to Venice from Constantinople. Within days the city is infected with bubonic plague - and the Turkish Sultan has his revenge.But the ship also holds a secret stowaway - Feyra, a young and beautiful harem doctor fleeing a future as the Sultan's concubine. Only her wits and medical knowledge keep her alive as the plague ravages Venice. In despair the Doge commissions the architect Andrea Palladio to build the greatest church of his career - an offering to God so magnificent that Venice will be saved. But Palladio's own life is in danger too, and it will require all skills of medico Annibale Cason, the city's finest plague doctor, to keep him alive.But what Annibale had not counted on was meeting Feyra, who is now under Palladio's protection, a woman who can not only match his medical skills but can also teach him how to care.

Hodder & Stoughton

Death of a Guru

Dave Hunt, Rabindranath Maharaj
Authors:
Dave Hunt, Rabindranath Maharaj

Rabindranath R Maharaj was descended from a long line of Brahmin priests and trained as a Yogi. He meditated for many hours each day, but gradually disillusionment set in. In DEATH OF A GURU he describes vividly and honestly Hindu life and customs, tracing his difficult search for meaning and his struggle to choose between Hinduism and Christ.At a time when Eastern mysticism and religion fascinate many in the West, Maharaj offers fresh and important insights from the perspective of his own experience.DEATH OF A GURU has long been an excellent seller on HCB's backlist. It is the best-known Hindu to Christianity conversion story and has been used widely for evangelistic purposes. This edition carries an exciting new cover.

Editor Kate Parkin on the glamorous, adventurous world of Mary Stewart.

Mary Stewart

Have you read Mary Stewart's modern classics? Click below to read more . . .

La France en fête with Julia Stagg

Julia Stagg talks about the making of A Fête To Remember

Recipe ofthe month

Plum Frangipane Tart

This month's recipe is a lovely plum frangipane tart from BILL'S: THE COOKBOOK.

Recipe of the month

Bill's Israeli couscous salad

June's recipe is a deliciously different summer salad taken from BILL'S: THE COOKBOOK...

Jon Rance on his book HAPPY ENDINGS

Are You Happy?

The idea behind my new novel HAPPY ENDINGS is a simple one: What makes us happy? The book follows four late twentysomethings . . .

Chapter One: God's Work or the Devil's Machinations

THE BOOK OF MADNESS AND CURES, by Regina O'Melveny

Read the first chapter of Regina O'Melveny's THE BOOK OF MADNESS AND CURES.

Chapter One: God's Work or the Devil's Machinations

THE BOOK OF MADNESS AND CURES, by Regina O'Melveny

Read the first chapter of Regina O'Melveny's THE BOOK OF MADNESS AND CURES.

When friends become lovers . . .

Meet Viv and Max from Emma Garcia's hilarious, heartwarming books NEVER GOOGLE HEARTBREAK and OMG BABY!!

Chapter One

PURE by Andrew Miller

Read the first chapter of Andrew Miller's Costa prize-winning PURE.

Chapter One

THE MAN WHO DISAPPEARED, by Clare Morrall

Read the first chapter of Sceptre author Clare Morrall's THE MAN WHO DISAPPEARED.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.

By Isobel Akenhead, February 2011

Hodder editor, Isobel Akenhead talks the perfect Valentine's present

Getting the right gift for your valentine can be a tricky business. Hodder Editor, Isobel Akenhead gives us her top tips for present buying this Valentine's.

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

Derry Moore

DERRY MOORE is an acclaimed photographer whose books include Horses, The English Room, Great Gardens of Italy and In The Shadow of the Raj.

Monty Don

MONTY DON is a well-known gardening writer and broadcaster. He lives with his family, garden and dogs in Herefordshire. His previous books include the Sunday Times best-seller Nigel and Paradise Gardens.@TheMontyDon/themontydon

Rabindranath Maharaj

Rabindranath R Maharaj was descended from a long line of Brahmin priests and trained as a Yogi. He meditated for many hours each day, but gradually disillusionment set in. In DEATH OF A GURU he describes vividly and honestly Hindu life and customs, tracing his difficult search for meaning and his struggle to choose between Hinduism and Christ.At a time when Eastern mysticism and religion fascinate many in the West, Maharaj offers fresh and important insights from the perspective of his own experience.