Related to: 'Masters of War Events'

Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The Kremlin does not forget. Six years ago, high-ranking Russian foreign intelligence officer Nikolai Volkov fled the country, accused of selling state secrets to MI6. Defecting to the UK, Volkov went into hiding. The Kremlin does not forgive. Nine weeks ago, Volkov was found slumped on a park bench in Swindon, poisoned with a lethal nerve agent - the victim of a botched assassination attempt. The Kremlin will always find you.Now Volkov is missing, kidnapped from a remote safe house by a Russian snatch squad. With nowhere to run, Volkov faces the ultimate choice: work with his sworn enemies, or face the wrath of the motherland...Meanwhile, ex-Regiment heroes Porter and Bald are drafted in by MI6 for a highly-sensitive mission. Their target: Derek Lansbury, an eccentric British populist and suspected Moscow agent. Six believes that Lansbury is planning something big ahead of a secretive far-right gathering - and they want Bald and Porter to help bring him down. Going undercover as bodyguards, they must infiltrate Lansbury's inner circle, win his trust and gather vital evidence. But as they get closer to the truth, Bald and Porter find themselves caught up in a terrifying conspiracy: one that threatens to bring down the established order of the West. And only Porter and Bald, two battle-hardened Blades, stand between survival and global chaos...

Coronet

Global Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Charles Street was once a highly-respected agent working for MI6, until a terrible mistake cost him his job. Now he's a desperate man, living on past glories and struggling to make ends meet. Until he makes a discovery that has the power to bring down the new President of the United States.But when Street tries to cash in on this discovery, he finds himself pursued by a Russian snatch squad.Strike Back hero John Porter and Regiment renegade John Bald are recruited by their handler to head to Washington, D.C. Their mission: find Street before the Russians.What begins as a routine exfiltration quickly descends into a brutal struggle and the ex-SAS legends will need to use all of their fighting instincts to stay alive.It seems someone is desperate to stop Street from going public with the dossier. Bald and Porter face a race against time to protect him.A startling revelation that leads from the White House to the Kremlin threatens to trigger a new global conflict...

Mulholland Books

SEAL Team Six Book 6: Hunt the Dragon

Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann
Authors:
Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann

An action-packed military thriller for fans of Chris Ryan and Andy McNab. Navy SEALs Crocker and Mancini are on a training exercise in Las Vegas when a moment of relaxation is interrupted by a violent altercation between hotel security and three businessmen claiming to be Chinese diplomats. They attempt to stop the fleeing businessmen, but soon realise that they may not be who they claim to be. That same night Las Vegas goes dark - someone has hacked into the Nevada Power Company system and shut down the entire city. As chaos reigns the businessmen make their escape. When Crocker and the rest of SEAL Team Six attempt to track them down, they find themselves drawn into a North Korean plot that combines cyber warfare and the theft of black market nuclear weapons. As darkness reigns, the squad is the last hope of preventing a conspiracy that could have catastrophic international consequences.

Sceptre

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven

Chris Cleave
Authors:
Chris Cleave

'Ian McEwan did this with Atonement, Sarah Waters did it with The Night Watch, and Chris Cleave does it too with Everyone Brave is Forgiven... A compelling and finely crafted novel.' FT'An addictive, propulsive read' The Sunday TimesSummer Reading pick - Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the TrainTop Ten hottest summer reads - Sunday Telegraph Instant New York Times BestsellerEvening Standard bestseller'A cracker' Stylist, 10 Exciting Books in 2016'His best book to date' Esquire, 10 best novels of 2016 Guardian Literary Highlight of 2016Independent Best Book to read in 2016 Irish News Top Picks for 2016Washington Post 20 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2016An extraordinary tale of love and honour in extreme circumstances, from the multi-award-winning author of THE OTHER HAND.When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up.Tom Shaw decides to give it a miss - until his flatmate Alistair unexpectedly enlists, and the conflict can no longer be avoided.Young, bright and brave, Mary is certain she'd be a marvelous spy. When she is - bewilderingly - made a teacher, she instead finds herself defying prejudice to protect the children her country would rather forget. Tom, meanwhile, finds that he will do anything for Mary. And when Mary and Alistair meet, it is love, as well as war, that will test them in ways they could not have imagined, entangling three lives in violence and passion, friendship and deception, inexorably shaping their hopes and dreams.In a powerful combination of both humour and heartbreak, this dazzling novel weaves little-known history, and a perfect love story, through the vast sweep of the Second World War - daring us to understand that, against the great theatre of world events, it is the intimate losses, the small battles, the daily human triumphs, that change us most.

Coronet

Masters of War

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The first book in the hugely popular Danny Black series by the creator of the hit TV show Strikeback.Paris. An elderly man is assassinated as he takes his morning walk. In the war-torn cities of Syria, government forces wage a bloody war against their own people. The Russians are propping up the government, the French are backing one rebel fraction and the British are backing another. In north Africa, young SAS trooper Danny Black is coming to the end of a gruelling tour of duty, or so he thinks. Danny has a new mission. An MI6 agent needs to make contact with Syrian rebel forces, and also with the private military contractors who are - unofficially - training this rebel faction as it struggles to bring down their government and establish a new regime that will be favourable to British business interests. Danny will learn who the masters of war, the men who call the shots, really are. Danny discovers a world where death is dispensed by the highest bidder and individuals will betray anybody if the price is right.

Mulholland Books

League of Terror

Bill Granger
Authors:
Bill Granger

WARNING: ADDICTIVE READING. WE WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR LOSS OF TIME, DRY EYES OR DISCONNECTION WITH REALITY FOLLOWING PROLONGED READING. 'Granger has combined Ian Fleming, John Le Carré and Trevanian in one heady mix' New York Times START READING THE NOVEMBER MAN SERIES NOW! Then go on to read the rest, you won't regret it.The armistice has been all but signed. As one master operative puts it, "The Cold War has lost its Freon." And as people all over the world rejoice, America's intelligence profession prepares to cut back operations. With the old East-West rivalry gone, the planet has no further need for spies. So it would seem. Fortunately, Devereaux - the spy they call November - knows better. Even now, he finds himself and his implacable nemesis locked in a deadly battle. The backdrop is a secret war of terrorism waged by an insidious mastermind combining the bloodiest back-alley tactics of Irish republicanism with the sleek financial machinations of Wall Street. And exploits them both.For Devereaux, this mission becomes more than another assignment reluctantly undertaken for his long-standing employer, R Section. It's deeply personal: an assassin has struck at Rita Macklin, the journalist whose love he has at last begun to accept and reciprocate. Behind the attacks is a man who has proven to have many identities and many lives, a killer without conscience or country, now seeking his final revenge against the November Man. Now Devereaux has but a single goal: kill Henry McGee, before he can strike again.'America's best spy novelist' Ed McBain Loved this? Read The Last Good German next . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Hungry Ghost

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Eyewitness

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Jack Solomon is a messenger of death.Working in the fractured remains of Yugoslavia, his task is to identify the victims of ethnic cleansing and to tell families that their loved ones are never coming home.Years of toiling in the killing fields have desensitised the former London policeman to the horrors of war, but when a truck containing twenty-six bodies is pulled from a lake, Solomon is unable to walk away from the case.He sets out to track down the only survivor of the massacre, a young girl on the run from the killers. Solomon's hunt for the last witness takes him from the brothels of Sarajevo to the high-stakes world of London's internet prostitution - where he will discover that the killers are closer to home than he thinks . . .*********PRAISE FOR STEPHEN LEATHER'A master of the thriller genre'Irish Times'A writer at the top of his game'Sunday Express'In the top rank of thriller writers' Jack Higgins

Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.

Company Profile

About Us

From Stephen King, Jeffery Deaver and Jodi Picoult to David Mitchell, Kirstie Allsopp and Dr Pierre Dukan, Hodder & Stoughton publishes exciting and diverse authors and ground-breaking titles from the biggest names, across all genres. Read about Hodder's history here.

10 Sep
Newcastle

The Sage event with Chris Ryan

8pm

The Sage event with Chris Ryan

10 Sep
Newcastle

The Sage event with Chris Ryan

8pm
07 Sep
London

Chris Ryan signing at Waterstones Canary Wharf

1pm

Chris Ryan signing at Waterstones Canary Wharf

07 Sep
London

Chris Ryan signing at Waterstones Canary Wharf

1pm

Chris Ryan signing at Waterstones Canary Wharf

08 Sep
LIVERPOOL

Chris Ryan at WATERSTONES LIVERPOOL

6:30pm

An Evening with Chris Ryan

08 Sep
LIVERPOOL

Chris Ryan at WATERSTONES LIVERPOOL

6:30pm
15 Mar
Nottingam Playhouse, Wellington Circus, Nottingham, NG1 5AF

Chris Ryan talk at Nottingham Playhouse

11am

Come and see Chris Ryan

16 Mar - to - 17 Mar
Connaught Studio, Pavilion Theatre, Worthing, West Sussex BN11 3PX

Chris Ryan talk at Worthing Theatre

09 Sep
Telford

Chris Ryan at The Oakengates Theatre, Telford

7:30pm

Chris Ryan at The Oakengates Theatre, Telford

09 Sep
Telford

Chris Ryan at The Oakengates Theatre, Telford

7:30pm

Chris Ryan at The Oakengates Theatre, Telford