Related to: 'Ted Talks'

Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson

'The world's best crime writer' Metro'Fearsomely authentic and moving' Daily Mail 'The best of what crime fiction can do' Michael Connelly'Brilliant' Mail on SundayThe acclaimed author of Night Dogs and Sympathy for the Devil returns with a blistering new novel - his first in over 20 years.Hanson thought he had witnessed the worst of humanity after a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint as a cop in Oregon. Then he moves to Oakland, California to join the under-funded, understaffed police department. Hanson chooses to live - alone - in the precinct that he patrols; he, unlike the rest of the white officers, takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community of East Oakland.He will encounter prejudice and hate on both sides of the line... and struggle to keep true to himself against powerful opposition and personal danger. Green Sun is a raw, unflinching novel about America's divided cities and one man's divided soul.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

TED Talks

Chris Anderson
Authors:
Chris Anderson

Hodder & Stoughton

Dreamland

Robert L. Anderson
Authors:
Robert L. Anderson

Dea Donahue has been able to travel through people's dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person's dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dea's mother is certain are right behind them. Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal. As Connor breaks down the walls that she's had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that's so bad. But when Dea breaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what's real and what's not?

Mulholland Books

A Song for Drowned Souls

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier

They find the boy by the swimming pool, dolls floating on its surface. Inside the house, his teacher lies dead. But he claims to remember nothing... Marsac is a quiet town in the Pyrenees, best known for its elite university. But when one of its professors is murdered, it becomes clear that the tranquil surface is a lie. The chief suspect is the son of Commandant Servaz's university sweetheart; and when she implores him to investigate, he cannot refuse. To close the case, Servaz must delve into his own past and re-open old and terrible wounds. It will be his most dangerous - and his most personal - investigation yet.A Song for Drowned Souls is the new novel by international bestseller Bernard Minier, author of The Frozen Dead, which was selected by The Sunday Times as one of the best crime novels in recent years.

Sceptre

Glow

Ned Beauman
Authors:
Ned Beauman

With GLOW, Ned Beauman has reinvented the international conspiracy thriller for a new generation.A hostage exchange outside a police station in Pakistan.A botched defection in an airport hotel in New Jersey.A test of loyalty at an abandoned resort in the Burmese jungle.A boy and a girl locking eyes at a rave in a South London laundrette . . .For the first time, Britain's most exciting young novelist turns his attention to the present day, as a conspiracy with global repercussions converges on one small flat above a dentist's office in Camberwell.'Beauman's writing is dazzlingly inventive.' The Times'I love Ned Beauman's novels.' Philip Hensher'A singular and almost recklessly gifted, young writer.' Time'Seriously intelligent and seriously funny at the same time.' Daily Telegraph'Gobsmackingly clever' Vanity Fair'Undoubtedly a writer of prodigious talent.' Financial Times'A promising voice for the future of the written word and a force to be acknowledged in the here and now.' Dazed & Confused

Mulholland Books

The Frozen Dead

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier
Hodder & Stoughton

Paul of Dune

Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Authors:
Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Battle Of Corrin

Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Authors:
Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson

The universal computer mind Omnius has retreated to its last stronghold, where it plots a devastating new strategy that could undo the victories of the Butlerian Jihad. The surviving Titans are creating new lieutenants to do their will when at last they return to attack the human beings they once ruled.In the years of peace too many of mankind have forgotten that their machine enemies never sleep. But some have forgotten nothing - and learned from their triumphs. The brilliant military commander Vorian Atreides, son of a Titan, has the gift of long life from his terrifying father and knows the machines' minds better than any man alive. Norma Cenva, the genius inventor of humanity's best defences, dreams of new discoveries that will make man invincible. And on the windswept desert planet Arrakis, the power that can give them victory waits.The authors of PRELUDE TO DUNE have written the triumphant climax to the history of the Dune universe: the story most eagerly anticipated by its readers.'If you're familiar with the Dune universe it is oddly compelling. This is a successful space opera that spins in a few genuine surprises.' Locus

Hodder Paperbacks

Picture Her Dead

Lin Anderson
Authors:
Lin Anderson

She began to scrape at the mortar. A few minutes later she was able to prise the edge of the brick loose. The resulting rush of foetid air made her gag, but she focussed her torch beam on the enlarged hole and peered inside.Her eyes widened in horror.When art student Jude Evans vanishes on a photographic visit to a derelict Glasgow cinema, her friend Liam enlists the help of his birth mother - forensic scientist Dr Rhona MacLeod - in his search for her. Visiting other cinemas on her list, they find clues to her disappearance and to the horrifying secret she may have discovered behind those walls. Throughout the investigation, Rhona must deal with the news that a face from her past is literally back from the dead - but for how long?

Hodder Paperbacks

Andrew Strauss: Winning the Ashes Down Under

Andrew Strauss
Authors:
Andrew Strauss
John Murray

Cityboy: 50 Ways to Survive the Crunch

Geraint Anderson
Authors:
Geraint Anderson

Are you embarrassed that you can no longer fly off in your private jet to Barbados for Christmas? Downright mortified you can't pay for your wife's much-needed facelift? Humiliated that you can no longer afford to snort cocaine off a prostitute's backside? Well, have no fear, for Cityboy instructs you how to come to terms with your newly reduced financial circumstances without losing face (substitute talcum powder for charlie). Aided by helpful drawings and diagrams, he explains how to keep your job and your partner (send her out caroling to pay for Christmas dinner), or, failing that, find new ones. Finally, he shows you how to save cash whilst giving the impression that you're actually living a more luxurious life than ever before (photoshop photos of your kids onto some exotic backdrop and past liberally over facebook).

Hodder & Stoughton

Wedgewood Grey Book 2

John Aubrey Anderson
Authors:
John Aubrey Anderson

John Aubrey Anderson artfully crafts the compelling story of the conflict between the natural and spirit worlds and Missy Parker and Mose Washington, caught between. WEDGEWOOD GREY takes place in the 1960's and is centered on a racially motivated act of violence. The defenders of a brutally attacked black woman must flee the area and are assisted by Missy Parker and her family in their escape. Mose Washington plays a pivotal role as the Black or White Chronicles saga continues.Missy is now a young woman and newly married. Mose has returned to the lake after spending five years in prison for killing a wicked man. His beloved wife Pip is lost to cancer leaving Mose to find his way alone. His spiritual insight and sensitivity tend to put him in the all the wrong places at all the right times. The demonic assault on Missy that began in Abiding Darkness has continued into her adulthood and the evil minions are relentless. They continue to pursue Missy with a fiery hatred that catches several families in the cross-fire and takes innocent lives.

Hodder Paperbacks

Driftnet

Lin Anderson
Authors:
Lin Anderson

The first in the gritty, atmospheric Rhona Macelod crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.'Lin Anderson is one of Scotland's national treasures' Stuart MacBride'The boy who had been abused and strangled in that hideous little room looked so like her, he could have been her brother...'A teenage boy is found mutilated and murdered in a Glasgow flat. Forensic scientist Rhona Macleod is called to the scene, but her grim task is made even more unsettling than usual by the boy's remarkable resemblance to her - and the fact that she gave up a baby boy for adoption seventeen years before.Racked with guilt, she sets out to find the boy's killer and determine whether he is her long-lost son - but in doing so, she immerses herself in the sinister world of an internet paedophile ring. Some very powerful men have a lot to lose if she succeeds, and everything to gain if she dies.The Rhona Macelod Series:1: Driftnet2: Torch3: Deadly Code4: Dark Flight5: Easy Kill6: Final Cut7: Reborn8: Picture Her Dead9: Paths of the Dead10: The Special Dead11: None but the Dead12: Follow the Dead

Hodder Paperbacks

The Road to Dune

Frank Herbert, Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Authors:
Frank Herbert, Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Machine Crusade

Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson
Authors:
Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson

Earth is a radioactive ruin. But the initial campaign of the Butlerian Jihad has given new hope to mankind. Serena Butler, whose murdered child has become a symbol for oppressed humanity, inspires a war against the thinking computers led by Xavier Harkonnen and Vorian Atreides.But four of the Titans - murderous machines with human brains and human cunning - still remain. And the universal computer mind, Omnius, still wields most of its power.

Chris Anderson

CHRIS ANDERSON is TED's president and head curator. Trained as a journalist after graduating from Oxford University, Anderson launched more than 100 successful magazines and websites before turning his attention to TED, which he and his non-profit organization acquired in 2001. His TED mantra - 'ideas worth spreading' - continues to blossom on an international scale. He lives in New York City.

Ned Beauman

Ned Beauman was born in 1985 and lives in London. He has written for Dazed & Confused, AnOther and the Guardian. His debut novel, BOXER, BEETLE was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award and the Desmond Elliot Prize, and won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Fiction Book. Ned Beauman was picked by The Culture Show as one of the 12 Best New British Writers in 2011. His second novel, THE TELEPORTATION ACCIDENT was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012.www.nedbeauman.co.ukwww.nedbeauman.blogspot.co.uk

Chris Anderson

Ted Talks

Module copy

Chris Anderson

Ted Talks

.

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A MAN CALLED OVE was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, MY GRANDMOTHER SENDS HER REGARDS AND APOLOGISES and BRITT-MARIE WAS HERE, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.