Related to: 'A Handful of Silver'

Tom Peters

The Excellence Dividend

.

Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Agnes Ridley has a cruel tongue and a heart of stone: when she discovers housemaid Lizzie Burton has fallen pregnant, she turns her out with only the clothes on her back. If it weren't for loyal Debbie, who follows her friend into exile, Lizzie would be friendless as well as destitute.The girls are blessed when they meet big-hearted Sadie Trent, who takes them in and cherishes them like her own. But even Sadie cannot protect the girls from the vicious malice of Abe Turley, who is determined to take his pleasure - and then his revenge; and from sinister Fleur Masson, who hides an evil trade behind the respectable facade of a fashion house. After such tribulations, can there ever be true happiness for a child of sin?

Hodder & Stoughton

No Place for a Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Laura Cadman had always assumed she would marry Edmund Shaw, the son of her father's partner, and keep the Shaw and Cadman name. But Edmund's violent refusal is just the beginning. When Jabez Shaw dies, Edmund takes advantage of Laura's father and cheats him out of the engineering works. Not content with that, he manufactures an accusation that lands Mr Cadman in Winson Green Prison. Penniless, her pride hurt and her heart broken, Laura vows to repay every pound that Edmund claims he is owed.Rafe Travers is often at hand when Laura is in trouble, but Edmund's cruel words blind her to Rafe's love. Only when he saves her from Edmund's final wickedness can she believe he loves her, and embrace happiness at last.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Penny Dip

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Her upstairs d'aint want nobody becomin' privy to what that husband of her'n be up to! Her knowed the ways of Fenton Gilmore . . . may the devil tek him! Her knows his temper, felt his fist many a time. And there be others as knows, women he's paid to keep silent about the blows they've suffered, for it tek more'n a roll in bed to satisfy Fenton Gilmore.'Emma Lawrence has reason to fear the base cruelty of the man she must call uncle. She and her sister Rachel had been taken into the Gilmore household on the death of their parents and have known nothing but unkindness at the hands of Fenton and his wife. And now Rachel is dead, brutally raped and strangled, and Emma must dry her tears and flee if she is to escape the same fate. Emma falls in with two other orphans, and Timothy and Lily become as dear to her as her own departed sister. But Fenton Gilmore does not give up so easily. His evil ambition is to own a brothel and Emma is vital to his perverted plan ... Meg Hutchinson is back in vintage form with this absorbing tale of a vulnerable young woman who overcomes hardship and tragedy to reap the rewards of a virtuous life.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'You be a cheat and a liar Katy Hawley, no wonder your folks d'aint want you! Well we don't want you neither, do we girls?'It was only a playground spat but the cruel words burned like acid into Katrin Hawley's brain. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold and Katrin waited until she could hit her persecutors where it hurt. However, in her pursuit of vengeance, Katrin takes a fatal step too far. Meg Hutchinson's new novel chronicles the ruthlessly destructive quest of one damaged woman at a time when the onslaught of German bombs was daily robbing families of their loved ones. Just as the stalwart men and women of the Black Country were pulling together for victory, one obsessive woman sought only to satisfy her own malignant, vindictive craving for retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Pauper's Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Maura Deverell is a young Irish peasant girl whose mother is dying of consumption. Their cruel landlord threatens to throw them out of their cottage unless Maura agrees to marry his young son, Liam Riordan. But before Maura can decide, she is brutally raped by Liam's brother Padraig, who gloats that once she is under their roof, Maura will be at his mercy - his sexual slave.Weak though she is, Maura's mother does not let this vicious act go unavenged. She curses the Riordans and then, on her deathbed, makes Maura promise to leave Ireland for good. Maura ends up in Birmingham, after many narrow escapes from rape and death. Even when she makes staunch friends, and discovers a protector in the shape of Aiden Shanley, she longs to go home, stopped only by her promise to her mother. Eventually the wicked Riordans meet a well deserved sticky end and Maura is persuaded to return and marry Liam after all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Unholy Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Peppercorn Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Judas Touch

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

The Number One bestseller.When Tam's brother Benjie is wrongly accused of theft, and locked in a prison cell, his sister makes a solemn promise that she will not let the little lad down. But Fate makes her break her word almost immediately: Benjie is transported to Australia and Tam must embark upon an epic journey to find him.Friendless and penniless, she makes her way to Bristol, finding employment as a lady's maid on board the Porpoise, a ship bound for the colonies. The voyage is long and perilous and Tam's life is threatened by two depraved seamen; though First Mate James Allen offers her his protection, she cannot return his love. For Tamar's heart already belongs to another seafaring man - Captain Nathan Burford, who, like Tamar, haunts the seas looking for lost loved ones.Under the blazing Australian sun, Tam must endure hardship and cruelty, but she also encounters generosity and friendship from unexpected quarters on her quest. Will one poor girl right a terrible wrong and rescue her brother from the Judas Touch?

Hodder Paperbacks

Pit Bank Wench

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Pregnant and deserted by her lover Saul, Miriam Bryce is forced to leave home by her evil mother. When she is injured in a road accident, she is taken to the home of a wealthy local businessman and gets taken into service. There, she discovers her ex-lover Saul, injured by Miriam's brother Ralph, who harbours more than brotherly feelings for her. Saul tries to rape Miriam and she returns home to have her baby, which dies after only two days. After trying to rape Miriam again, Saul is killed by Ralph and, as a result of their mother's death, Ralph and Miriam learn that they are not blood related and find love and happiness together.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Promise Given

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Stunned by her stepmother's accusation that she killed her beloved little brother, Rachel Cade is even more shocked to find she is at the mercy of the village's evil Magistrate Bedworth who sends her to the workhouse to await trial. There, Rachel is convinced her fate is sealed, but she has reckoned without the actions of handsome landowner Jared Lytton who comes to her rescue.Despite being vindicated, Rachel is forced to leave the village. Life is tough and she has to struggle to survive until she meets the widow Beulah Thomas and her son William. Working on their farm, she is treated with kindness and when William asks for her hand in marriage, she agrees - more out of gratitude than out of love. But Rachel cannot forget Jared Lytton, whose path seems destined to cross hers.

Hodder Paperbacks

No Place of Angels

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Carys Beddows has never understood why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way, and throws Carys out of the house to fend for herself. Befriended by Alice, a young woman in domestic service, Carys herself takes a job as a housemaid and is lucky enough to find in the mistress of the house a friend and patron. Maria continues with her vicious schemes until fate intervenes to punish her wicked ways; but for Carys, the reward of virtue is lasting love.

Hodder Paperbacks

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson