Jessica Strawser - Almost Missed You - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473682252
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018

Almost Missed You

By Jessica Strawser

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From bright new voice in fiction Jessica Strawser comes this heart-breaking page-turner, which will make you question how well you really know the people you love the most.

Violet and Finn are 'meant to be'.
A happy couple seemingly brought together by the hand of fate, they have a gorgeous son, and are enjoying their first family holiday in Florida.
Until Violet returns to the hotel room to discover that her husband has left without a trace; and he's taken their child with him.
Caitlin and Finn have been best friends since the first day of college.
But friends don't ask you to hide their kidnapped son, threatening to reveal a secret which could destroy your family if you don't.
Do they?
Told through the viewpoints of Violet, Caitlin and Finn, Almost Missed You is a powerful story of love, betrayal, and secrets that maybe shouldn't be kept. . .

Biographical Notes

By day, Jessica Strawser is editor-at-large for Writer's Digest magazine, North America's leading publication for aspiring and working writers since 1920. By night, she is a fiction writer of two novels: ALMOST MISSED YOU and NOT THAT I COULD TELL (publishing in the UK in April 2018). And by the minute, she is a proud wife and mom to two super sweet and super young kids in Cincinnati, Ohio.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473682269
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Almost Missed You is a skillful, insightful debut: a deft exploration of the mysteries of marriage, the price we pay for our secrets, and just how easy it is to make the worst choices imaginable. — Chris Bohjalian, New York Times bestselling author
Jessica Strawser has expertly woven a tale of a marriage in crisis with elements of daring, danger, mystery, and secrets that will surprise and delight you. — Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author
Strawser's exploration of marriage, it's expectations, and motherhood are spot-on, making for an absorbing read. — Publishers Weekly
Almost Missed You is an emotional powerhouse of a novel. — Garth Stein, New York Times bestselling author
Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver

The stunning new standalone novel from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Picoult

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
John Murray

Villanelle: No Tomorrow

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful thriller - more information coming soon.

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones

One weekend towards the end of summer, charged on drink and lust and love and disappointment, two couples exchange partners for a single night. But the repercussions will last a great deal longer. Told from the perspectives of all four characters, FOUR is a book about love, secrets, friendship and fidelity. A story full of dilemmas, deceits and twists that will keep you guessing until the final page.PRAISE FOR ANDY JONES'Touching, funny, and real' - Jane Costello on THE TWO OF US'I'm always wary about comparing books but, just this once, I'm going to make an exception because for me this is one of those few novels that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as ONE DAY. It has everything you could want from a romcom and then some' - The Sun on THE TROUBLE WITH HENRY AND ZOE

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

A young local student has apparently committed suicide. Her body is found in an abandoned car on a lonely country road. She didn't own a car. Didn't even drive. How did she get there? Where did she die? Who moved her, and why?Meanwhile a man in his sixties is found dead in a gully up on the wild moorland. He is wearing an expensive suit and carrying no identification. Post-mortem findings indicate he died from injuries sustained during the fall. But what was he doing up there? And why are there no signs of a car in the vicinity?As the inconsistencies multiply and the mysteries proliferate, Annie's father's new partner, Zelda, comes up with a shocking piece of information that alerts Banks and Annie to the return of an old enemy in a new guise. This is someone who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to get what he wants - and suddenly the stakes are raised and the hunt is on.

Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Drinks in hand, a group of neighbourhood women gather around a fire pit to enjoy a rare child-less Saturday night. Giddy with freedom, they drink too much, share secrets they wish, perhaps, they hadn't, and enjoy getting to know each other better. The single newcomer. The imperfect mom. The new-born parents. The military wife. The almost divorcee. Come Monday morning, one of them is gone. As a police investigation launches, the women will band together and ask whether they should have noticed that something was amiss. But how well can you really know your neighbours, when appearances can be so deceiving? As long as you believe that what you see is what you get, I get to stay this way. Poised. Devoted. Alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Award-winning author Elizabeth George delivers another masterpiece of suspense in her Inspector Lynley series: Lynley and his pugnacious and deeply loyal Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers find themselves up against one of the most sinister murder cases they have ever encountered.When a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook things, important things, and prevents her from uncovering an earlier crime that set everything in motion.

Hodder Paperbacks

Baby Boom!

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen

No one said the journey to motherhood was easy . . .Increased face-girth, back acne and gagging every time she's in the presence of vegetables isn't quite the beautiful start Emily had planned for her unborn baby . . . Molly's unexpected pregnancy somehow turns her boyfriend into the poncy-vegan-nut-milk-enforcer, but she breezes it, as she breezes everything. (Including still being able to eat avocados much to Emily's annoyance.)Liz quickly realises if she's to move her life on, she needs to get rid of the married man she's in love with - especially now she's realised he's been hiding more than his wedding ring . . .It's a story about becoming parents, but most of all it's a story about love, laughter and chatting to your best friends about your fanny on WhatsApp.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday ExpressSunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather's latest edge-of-your-seat thriller.*****Vicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already crew manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

JM Originals

A Kind of Freedom

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Authors:
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell

Modern fairy tales of magic, outsiders and lost souls. 'WHAT A BOOK. IT'S SO STRANGE AND MAGICAL AND THE WRITING IS JUST BEAUTIFUL. I LOVED IT.' Louise O'Neill 'ENCHANTING AND ILLUMINATING' Carys Bray, author of A Song For Issy Bradley 'LIKE WALKING THROUGH A MIRROR.' Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry 'THIS BOOK IS FULL OF CHARACTER AND MAGIC, AND I FOUND MYSELF MESMERISED' Claire Fuller, author of Our Endless Numbered Days 'A GEM OF A BOOK ... DEEPLY MOVING' Stylist Book Wars v THE BOOK OF DUST. 'THESE STORIES ARE WEAVED TOGETHER LIKE SILVERY FISHING NETS. LIKE SHIMMERING, JEWEL-BRIGHT WORLDS' Helen McClory 'These days, you can find anything you need at the click of a button. That's why I bought her heart online.'Spirits in jam jars, mini-apocalypses, animal hearts and side shows. A girl runs a coffin hotel on a remote island. A boy is worried his sister has two souls. A couple are rewriting the history of the world. And mermaids are on display at the local aquarium.The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night is a collection of twelve haunting stories; modern fairy tales brimming with magic, outsiders and lost souls. 'I'm fascinated by storytelling, and particularly fairy tales. How humans have always tried to explain things that they can't possibly understand with, sometimes outrageous, stories' Jen CampbellFrom the author of Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops series and The Bookshop Book.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
John Murray

Hoffer

Tim Glencross
Authors:
Tim Glencross