Rosemary Rowe - Masterclass: Writing Crime Fiction - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473601383
    • Publication date:28 Nov 2014

Masterclass: Writing Crime Fiction

How to create compelling plots, dramatic characters and nail biting twists in crime and detective fiction

By Rosemary Rowe

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

YOUR COMPLETE GUIDE TO WRITING CRIME THRILLERS, HARD BOILED FICTION AND DETECTIVE STORIES.

Create compelling plots, dramatic characters and nail-biting twists that sell.

LEARN HOW TO WRITE GRIPPING CRIME FICTION.

Do you have an idea for a gripping crime novel?
Would you like to know how to plot your book flawlessly?
Do you want to create beautifully crafted characters and nail biting twists?

This book is designed for anyone who wants to write an unputdownable crime novel. Whatever your subgenre, whether Scandi-crime or detective 'cosies', this book is full of inspirational advice, acute insights and practical exercises. The first part of the book establishes the rules of writing crime fiction - from convincing characters to the role of research. The book then covers the practical craft of writing and editing, before explaining in detail how to secure a contract and/or self-publish your work. A comprehensive guide for anyone who wants to be the next Val McDermid or Ian Rankin.

ABOUT THE SERIES
The Teach Yourself Creative Writing series helps aspiring authors tell their story. Covering a range of genres from science fiction and romantic novels, to illustrated children's books and comedy, this series is packed with advice, exercises and tips for unlocking creativity and improving your writing. And because we know how daunting the blank page can be, we set up the Just Write online community at tyjustwrite, for budding authors and successful writers to connect and share.

Biographical Notes

Rosemary Rowe is extremely active in the crime-writing community, and is a very involved member of the Crime Writers' Association. She has written a series of popular crime novels set in second-century Roman Britain, featuring the Celtic sleuth and mosaic-maker, Libertus, and regularly gives talks and runs crime writing courses, the latest being a Summer School Crime Writing Course.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473601369
  • Publication date: 28 Nov 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Teach Yourself
Hodder & Stoughton

Many Rivers to Cross

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

A young Middle Eastern boy is dead - his body stuffed in a wheelie bin on the East Side Estate. Detective Superintendent Banks and his team are called to investigate this case whose profile increases even further when they realise he was stabbed elsewhere and dumped. Who is the boy, and where did he come from? Then a heroin addict is found dead of an overdose in an area of town scheduled for redevelopment as a shopping centre, and, while trying not to be distracted by his concern for his friend Zelda's increasingly dangerous situation, Banks discovers a connection with a shady property developer. Finding a solution to the case may come at a terrible cost...

Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

The gripping new psychological suspense novel from the bestselling author of breakout hit HE SAID/SHE SAIDThe men who built the asylums called them 'stone mothers': places of safety to hold troubled women and nurse them back to health. But no one wants a mother made of stone...Nazareth mental hospital has been converted to luxury flats, but it still has its secrets.Three women live in its shadow: Marianne, who fled her home, her boyfriend and the body they buried. Now a successful academic, a loving mother and a loyal wife, she fears her secret being revealed, her world being ripped apart. Honor, her daughter, who she will do anything to protect. And Helen, her worst enemy - and the only person she can trust.Marianne can't tell the truth. She can't keep the secret. And none of them can escape the past...Moving back through time to reveal twists you'll never see coming, Stone Mothers is the gripping new suspense novel from the bestselling author of He Said/She Said.'Addictively scary and thrillingly audacious.' Nicci French'The plot is so CLEVER... and the writing is perfection.' Marian Keyes'A clever, nuanced psychological thriller from one of the best writers in the genre. Properly chilling, you'll be gripped.' Red

Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Mulholland Books

Lie With Me

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

The truth is, we all tell lies... take a deep breath and dive into the book everyone's raving about. 'If you've had a hole in your literary life since finishing Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, this is the book to fill it' GraziaIt starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house, and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of...Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that, however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage...... well, by then, it could just be too late.

Sceptre

The Crime Writer

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Mulholland Books

A Killing of Angels

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time of Torment

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Butcher Bird

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

Book 2 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, , which can be read as a standalone, from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver)The Black Death killed his father and brothers , making Oswald de Lacy Lord of Somershill Manor. It also killed many of his villagers, leaving fewer people to do more work.So Oswald tries to use logic and patience to manage a struggling estate, a socially ambitious mother, an overbearing sister and a mutinous workforce.Then a baby is found impaled on a thorn bush and people say they have seen a huge creature in the skies. The Butcher Bird.And now there is no room for common sense, no time for patience. If Oswald is to survive, he must find the truth behind a series of ever more brutal events.From the plague-ruined villages of Kent to the luxurious bedchambers of London, it is a journey full of danger, darkness and shocking revelations.'The whodunnit aspect is neatly done, the family secrets and waspish relationships are intriguing, and humour and originality are abundant' Daily Mail

Mulholland Books

Honky Tonk Samurai

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of the Shadows

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Mulholland Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions to its murky underworld - he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.

Mulholland Books

Shanghai Redemption

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Words

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Tension, thy name is Sophie Hannah' IndependentJustine thought she knew who she was, until an anonymous caller seemed to know better...After escaping London and a career that nearly destroyed her, Justine plans to spend her days doing as little as possible in her beautiful home in Devon.But soon after the move, her daughter Ellen starts to withdraw when her new best friend, George, is unfairly expelled from school. Justine begs the head teacher to reconsider, only to be told that nobody's been expelled - there is, and was, no George. Then the anonymous calls start: a stranger, making threats that suggest she and Justine share a traumatic past and a guilty secret - yet Justine doesn't recognise her voice. When the caller starts to talk about three graves - two big and one small, to fit a child - Justine fears for her family's safety. If the police can't help, she'll have to eliminate the danger herself, but first she must work out who she's supposed to be...

Hodder & Stoughton

Brush Back

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Mulholland Books

Crossbones Yard

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Crossbones Yard was a burial ground once. Now it's wasteland, tucked away in the back streets of Borough beneath the shadow of the Shard. The perfect place to leave a body...Alice Quentin finds the murder victim lying there - the woman's hand outstretched, as if begging for her help. A psychologist who sometimes works with the Metropolitan police, Alice is no stranger to sick minds. But this case is worse than anything she's seen before, and the killer is determined to make it personal.

Hodder Paperbacks

Black Sunday

Thomas Harris
Authors:
Thomas Harris

All the FBI and Mossad know is that something apocalyptic is being planned sometime soon. They don't know about the observation balloon, the biggest flying fragmentation bomb of all time. The bomb which is being primed for the terrible day when it will hang over the biggest football crowd of the season. The day of horror and devastation.Black Sunday.