David Forrest - And To My Nephew Albert I Leave The Island What I Won Off Fatty Hagan In A Poker Game - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

And To My Nephew Albert I Leave The Island What I Won Off Fatty Hagan In A Poker Game

By David Forrest

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The classic Cold War comedy from the author of THE GREAT DINOSAUR ROBBERY available as an eBook for the first time.

Foul Rock is a tiny speck only seventy meters wide and one hundred and forty meters long, just off the coast of England.

When he first sets foot on his inheritance, Albert quickly realises that there is absolutely nothing there, nothing except for the frequent presence of Victoria, a very attractive young girl in search of a suntan.

Just as the two are getting to know each other better, a Russian trawler (spy ship) runs aground on the Island.

The other side of the Island is soon occupied by the United States Marines and Victoria and Albert find themselves caught up in a precarious and hilarious Cold War stand off.

And to My Nephew Albert...is a classic satire from the author(s) of The Great Dinosaur Robbery and After Me, The Deluge.

Biographical Notes

David Forrest is the pen name of writers David Eliades and Robert Forrest-Webb. They authored several novels together including The Great Dinosaur Robbery which was filmed as One of Our Dinosaurs is Missing, starring Peter Ustinov.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444788457
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
John Murray

Hashim and Family

Shahnaz Ahsan
Authors:
Shahnaz Ahsan

Sceptre

The Whispering Muse

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
John Murray

The Electric

Edward Hogan
Authors:
Edward Hogan

'A writer of great energy and fearsome powers of observation' Hilary Mantel, TLSBrighton, 1950s. When Daisy got married, she knew nothing of a police wife's struggles - the way secrecy and violence seep into the home. But over the years she finds ways to exist. She builds a fierce bond with her daughter, Linda, and together they escape reality and enter the twilit fantasy of the movies whenever they can.Brighton, 1998. Linda is lost and still reeling from the horror of her mother's death a decade before. While clearing out the family home, she finds three letters to Daisy, from a man she'd never once mentioned.Meanwhile Lucas, her deaf teenage son, is obsessed with his support worker, and relearning the sign language he shared with his Nanna. As the language comes back, so do memories of his early childhood. Will his remembering what really happened ten years ago save his family . . . or destroy it?A grandmother, a mother, a son, bound together by love, tragedy, and the one place they can escape to - The Electric.

Hodder & Stoughton

Haven't They Grown

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Mulholland Books

The Art of Dying

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay
JM Originals

Asghar and Zahra

Sameer Rahim
Authors:
Sameer Rahim
Two Roads

The House by the Loch

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark
Hodder & Stoughton

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

***Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series***'Not since Nancy Drew has a nosy, crime-obsessed kid been so hard to resist' - New York TimesWoody Lambert is in trouble. He comes from a broken family, suffers bad grades at school and his older brother, Tony, is on probation for a drug offence. When Woody inadvertently gets caught up with Tony and one of his friends, Garth, cruising around Strattenburg in a beaten-up Mustang drinking beer, one thing leads to another and Garth holds up a convenience store with a fake gun. Though he had no involvement in the crime other than being in Garth's car, Woody is arrested as an accomplice. He's going to need serious legal advice to avoid juvenile prison.Enter Theodore Boone: after all, Theo has already decided that he will become the best courtroom lawyer in the state. It's just that, at the age of thirteen, Theo is years from being a qualified lawyer - and Woody needs help right now . . . ***********************Further praise for the Theodore Boone series'If you aspire to turn your children into lawyers who will keep you in your old age, John Grisham's Theodore Boone, his first novel for young people, might be for you' - Sunday Times'For any young readers tired of wizards, vampires and Greek gods, there's now a new kid on the young fiction block, and this one really does have serious powers: Theodore Boone, half-boy, half-lawyer... fans will be pleased to know there will be more of Theo's adventures to come' - Sunday Express'Nobody does legal fiction better' - Daily Express'Gripping . . . I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery. I think everyone will be enthralled by Theodore Boone' - Scholastic News

Two Roads

A Single Source

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington
Hodder & Stoughton

A Book of Bones

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019

Angie Kim
Authors:
Angie Kim
John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag
Sceptre

When All is Said

Anne Griffin
Authors:
Anne Griffin
John Murray

No Tomorrow

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

The basis for KILLING EVE, now a major BBC TV series, starring Sandra Oh and Jodie ComerSUNDAY TIMES Thriller of the MonthIn a hotel room in Venice, where she's just completed a routine assassination, Villanelle receives a late-night call. Eve Polastri has discovered that a senior MI5 officer is in the pay of the Twelve, and is about to debrief him. As Eve interrogates her subject, desperately trying to fit the pieces of the puzzle together, Villanelle moves in for the kill. The duel between the two women intensifies, as does their mutual obsession, and when the action moves from the high passes of the Tyrol to the heart of Russia, Eve finally begins to unwrap the enigma of her adversary's true identity.Codename Villanelle, the first of the Killing Eve series, is out now! Praise for Killing Eve TV series'A dazzling thriller . . . mightily entertaining' Guardian 'Entertaining, clever and darkly comic' New York Times

John Murray

Moscow, Midnight

John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

'This is a work of great ambition ... above all it feels like a work of virtuoso narrative for its own sake; an Icelandic 1001 Nights.' The Sunday TimesJósef Loewe can recall the moment of his birth in August, 1962 and everything that has happened since - or so he claims to the woman listening to the tale of his life . . .A love story He begins with his father, Leo, a starving Jewish fugitive in World War II Germany. In a small-town guesthouse, Leo discovers a kindred spirit in the maid who nurses him back to health; together they shape a piece of clay into a baby.A crime story Leo escapes to Iceland with the clay boy inside a hatbox, only to become embroiled in a murder mystery. It is not until 1962 that his son Jósef can be born.A science-fiction story In modern-day Reykjavík, a middle-aged Jósef attracts the interest of a rapacious geneticist. Now, what lies behind Jósef's tale emerges. And as the story of genesis comes full circle, we glimpse the dangerous path ahead for humankind. In this epic novel, Sjón has woven ancient and modern material into a singular masterpiece - encompassing genre fiction, history, theology, folklore, expressionist film, poetry, comic strips, myth, drama and, of course, the rich tradition of Icelandic storytelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones

One reckless night. 'Secrets and lies have a nasty habit of coming out at the least appropriate time . . . moving, thought-provoking and beautifully written' Daily Mail'Engaging . . . an incredibly emotional story' The Book Bag'We love this novel and didn't see the ending coming. . .' Closer**************Sally, Al and Mike have known each other for twenty years. Now approaching their fortieth birthdays, life has proven more unpredictable than they could have imagined. But despite the disappointments, heartaches and regrets, their friendship has endured.And now there is Faye, Mike's new girlfriend - still in her twenties, carefree and uninhibited. She reminds the friends of their younger selves, of old loves and missed chances.Maybe Faye influenced what happened next? Why they did what they did. Whatever the reasons, one reckless night is about to change all of their lives for ever. **************Praise for Andy Jones:'What happens the morning after the night before, when the night before was when you did the most reckless thing of your life? I loved Andy Jones's stylish portrayal of four people who make way too much history in one night, and just couldn't put it down until I found out the fate of each of them' Catherine Isaac'I'm always wary about comparing books but, just this once, I'm going to make an exception because for me this is one of those few novels that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as One Day. It has everything you could want from a romcom and then some' - Sun on The Trouble With Henry and Zoe

Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling

The Cloven is the epic climax to B. Catling's beloved genre-busting Vorrh Trilogy. In the stunning conclusion to Brian Catling's Vorrh trilogy, the colonial city of Essenwald gives up all its secrets, as the ancient forest seeks to reclaim what has been taken from it. Those who have been enslaved shall be no longer, and two heroes once thought dead shall reemerge stronger than ever. A man will be split in two, and a young woman will rise to the height of her powers. Meanwhile, the threat of war looms over London. Germany is gearing up to begin the Blitz, and only Nicolas the Erstwhile senses the danger to come. Will he be able to save the man who saved him? The Cloven is a book of battles and betrayals, in which Catling's incredible creations all fulfill their destinies and lead us to an epic conflagration with the fate of mankind hanging in the balance as the Vorrh attacks the one thing humankind can't live without.

Hodder & Stoughton

How Do You Like Me Now?

Holly Bourne
Authors:
Holly Bourne
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser