Search results for: 'Follow Hodder Faith on Twitter'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Devil's Slave

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Hodder & Stoughton

Henry VIII and the men who made him

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman

Tracy Borman, author of the bestselling biography Thomas Cromwell, takes us behind the scenes of Henry VIII's court and sheds new light on the most notorious Tudor monarch through the fresh perspective of his male relationships.Henry VIII is well known for his tumultuous relationships with women, and he is often defined by his many marriages. But what do we see if we take a different look? When we see Henry through the men in his life, a new perspective on this famous king emerges...Henry's relationships with the men who surrounded him reveal much about his beliefs, behaviour and character. They show him to be capable of fierce, but seldom abiding loyalty; of raising men only to destroy them later. He loved to be attended and entertained by boisterous young men who shared his passion for sport, but at other times he was more diverted by men of intellect, culture and wit. Often trusting and easily led by his male attendants and advisers during the early years of his reign, he matured into a profoundly suspicious and paranoid king whose favour could be suddenly withdrawn, as many of his later servants found to their cost. His cruelty and ruthlessness would become ever more apparent as his reign progressed, but the tenderness that he displayed towards those he trusted proves that he was never the one-dimensional monster that he is often portrayed as. In this fascinating and often surprising new biography, Tracy Borman reveals Henry's personality in all its multi-faceted, contradictory glory.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

The gripping follow up to THE BINDING SONG, from the winner of the Stephen King and Guardian short story competition.Is there a serial killer in East Anglia? The police deny it. Journalist Frankie suspects they're wrong. Student Ava knows they're wrong... because she's just been abducted by him. This is a gripping novel in which suspense meets investigation - as Ava struggles to stay alive, and Frankie finds herself far closer to the case than she'd anticipated...Elodie Harper is a news journalist herself and THE DEATH KNOCK is an authentic, terrifying story of dark deeds and the hunt for the truth.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Cut Out

Fergus McNeill
Authors:
Fergus McNeill

LONGLISTED FOR THE CRIMEFEST EDUNNIT AWARD, 2015. A chilling police procedural for fans of Peter James and Peter Robinson. Nigel never meant for it to happen. At first, he just wanted to be Matt's friend. But when he discovers he can hear what is going on in the flat below him, his fascination with his new neighbour drifts into obsession.Rearranging his furniture to recreate the layout of the rooms downstairs. Buying the same clothes, going through Matt's post, his things. Becoming Matt without him ever knowing.And it would have been all right, if Matt hadn't brought the girl home.When things spiral out of control, Detective Inspector Harland has to unravel the disturbing truth. But there's far more to the case than meets the eye . . .(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Knife Edge

Fergus McNeill
Authors:
Fergus McNeill
Hodder & Stoughton

Eye Contact

Fergus McNeill
Authors:
Fergus McNeill

A crime novel that's perfect for fans of Peter James or Peter Robinson.If you look him in the eye, you're dead.From the outside, Robert Naysmith is a successful businessman, handsome and charming. But for years he's been playing a deadly game. He doesn't choose his victims. Each is selected at random - the first person to make eye contact after he begins 'the game' will not have long to live. Their fate is sealed.When the body of a young woman is found on Severn Beach, Detective Inspector Harland is assigned the case. It's only when he links it to an unsolved murder in Oxford that the police begin to guess at the awful scale of the crimes. But how do you find a killer who strikes without motive?(P)2015 Oakhill Publishing

Hodder & Stoughton

Not in God's Name

Jonathan Sacks
Authors:
Jonathan Sacks

Despite predictions of continuing secularisation, the twenty-first century has witnessed a surge of religious extremism and violence in the name of God.In this powerful and timely book, Jonathan Sacks explores the roots of violence and its relationship to religion, focusing on the historic tensions between the three Abrahamic faiths: Judaism, Christianity and Islam.Drawing on arguments from evolutionary psychology, game theory, history, philosophy, ethics and theology, Sacks shows how a tendency to violence can subvert even the most compassionate of religions. Through a close reading of key biblical texts at the heart of the Abrahamic faiths, Sacks then challenges those who claim that religion is intrinsically a cause of violence, and argues that theology must become part of the solution if it is not to remain at the heart of the problem.This book is a rebuke to all those who kill in the name of the God of life, wage war in the name of the God of peace, hate in the name of the God of love, and practise cruelty in the name of the God of compassion.For the sake of humanity and the free world, the time has come for people of all faiths and none to stand together and declare: Not In God's Name.

Hodder & Stoughton

Get Your Hopes Up!

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer

One of the most powerful forces in the universe is hope--the happy and confident anticipation that something good is going to happen. Regardless of where one is in life, it is impossible to live successfully and to the fullest without hope.With GET YOUR HOPES UP! Joyce will help readers achieve a lasting sense of hope, built on their faith in God. Hope is only as strong as its source. This book will help readers avoid misplacing their trust in unreliable things, and help them ground their hope steadfastly in God for limitless joy and possibilities for their lives. As Joyce explains, "Without hope in God, there isn't much you can do, but with Hope in God, there isn't much you can't do."

Hodder & Stoughton

The Complete NIV Audio Bible

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version

Ever since he became a Christian at the age of forty, it has been Poirot actor David Suchet's dream to make an audio recording of the whole Bible. In between filming the final episodes of Poirot, David Suchet spent over 200 hours in the recording studio to create the very first full-length audio version of the NIV Bible spoken by a single British actor. This 80-hour recording comes on six MP3 CDs. It can be used on any device that displays the MP3 symbol. You can transfer the audio files for your personal use onto your computer, smartphone, MP3 player and other compatible devices. It is also available separately as an audio digital download. Ebooks of each section of the Bible - enhanced with Suchet's audio narration - are also available.

Hodder Paperbacks

Keeping Faith

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERWhen Mariah White catches her husband with another woman, her life starts to fall apart. And when her daughter, Faith, begins to confide in an imaginary friend, Mariah's own brush with insanity starts to take on a darker meaning.Then Faith appears to start performing miracles, and all at once the situation is spiralling beyond Mariah's control. Is Faith truly seeing God? Or is she just a troubled young girl seeking refuge from her parents' divorce?When it comes to matters of faith, it's hard to know who to believe . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Dear Lucy

Julie Sarkissian
Authors:
Julie Sarkissian

Hodder Paperbacks

Insurrection

Peter Rollins
Authors:
Peter Rollins

In this incendiary new work, philosopher-theologian Peter Rollins proclaims that the Christian faith is not primarily concerned with questions regarding life after death but with the possibility of life before death.In order to unearth this truth, Rollins prescribes a radical and wholesale critique of contemporary Christianity that he calls pyro-theology. It is only as we submit our spiritual practices, religious rituals, and dogmatic affirmations to the flames of fearless interrogation that we come into contact with the reality that Christianity is in the business of transforming our world rather than offering a way of interpreting or escaping it. Belief in the Resurrection means but one thing: participation in an Insurrection.

Hodder & Stoughton

Gin O'Clock

The Queen [Of Twitter]
Authors:
The Queen [Of Twitter]

For the first time, Her Majesty's diaries are opened...'Had Mrs "call me Carole" Middleton on the phone after lunch. Wanting to check "our outfits don't clash on the big day". One seriously doubts they would.'Queen of sixteen sovereign nations, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith. She's one of the world's most well-known and powerful leaders and has reigned for almost 60 years. She's been privy to every major event and decision. But what does she really think?'One does enjoy the Eurovision Song Contest. Lovely to be reminded how much more civilised the British are than our European neighbours. Royal Eurovision Fancy Dress Party to celebrate. Unfortunately Camilla misread the invitation as 'Euro-tunnel Fancy Dress Party' and came as a train.'Taking in the momentous events of 2011, including two Royal Weddings, the phone hacking scandal and the Duke of Edinburgh's 90th Birthday Tarts and Vicars Party, these diaries reveal the seldom-seen workings of state and reveal how an octogenarian is quietly ruling the world and still has time for a gin.'No, Mr Clegg, people born in Libya are not "Librarians".twitter.com/queen_ukfacebook.com/royalginoclock

Hodder Paperbacks

The Priest's Graveyard

Ted Dekker
Authors:
Ted Dekker
Hodder & Stoughton

Harvesting the Heart

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
@HodderFaith

Follow Hodder Faith on Twitter

For updates from the UK's leading Christian publisher.

Hodder Faith CRE 2018

Terms and Conditions

Terms and Conditions for Hodder Faith CRE 2018

Elodie Harper

Elodie Harper is a journalist and prize winning short story writer. Her story 'Wild Swimming' won the Guardian-Hodder The Bazaar of Bad Dreams story competition as judged by Stephen King. She is currently a reporter and presenter at ITV News Anglia, and before that worked as a producer for Channel 4 News.