Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson - Friend of the Devil - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444791969
    • Publication date:16 Jan 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444758245
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2012
Books in this series

Friend of the Devil

DCI Banks 17

By Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Inspector Banks is back in the 17th stunning DCI Banks novel from bestselling author Peter Robinson.

When Karen Drew is found sitting in her wheelchair staring out to sea with her throat cut one chilly morning, DI Annie Cabbot, on loan to Eastern Area, gets lumbered with the case. Back in Eastvale, that same Sunday morning, 19-year-old Hayley Daniels is found raped and strangled in the Maze, a tangle of narrow alleys behind Eastvale's market square, after a drunken night on the town with a group of friends, and DCI Alan Banks is called in. Banks finds suspects galore, while Annie seems to hit a brick wall - until she reaches a breakthrough that spins her case in a shocking and surprising new direction, one that also involves Banks.

Then another incident occurs in the Maze which seems to link the two cases in a bizarre and mysterious way. As Banks and Annie dig into the past to uncover the deeper connections, they find themselves also dealing with the emotional baggage and personal demons of their own relationship. And it soon becomes clear that there are two killers in their midst, and that at any moment either one might strike again.

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and now lives in Canada. His bestselling, critically acclaimed Inspector Banks series has won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781844568444
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2008
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Watch for those twists - they'll get you every time — Ian Rankin
Robinson once again puts his skills to work in a police procedural that grips like pliers — Independent on Sunday
Classic Robinson: a labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation — Observer
Peter Robinson is good at producing ingenious mysteries, and this one does not disappoint — Daily Telegraph
Readers will be on the edge of their seats — Publishers Weekly
Praise for PIECE OF MY HEART — :
'Brilliantly evokes the time of British psychedelia ... as well as being a terrific contemporary crime novel.' — Independent on Sunday
'Peter Robinson has for too long, and unfairly, been in the shadow of Ian Rankin; perhaps PIECE OF MY HEART, the latest in the Chief Inspector Banks series, will give him the status he deserves, near, perhaps even at the top of, the British crime writers' league . . . PIECE OF MY HEART brilliantly interweaves past and present, providing two strands of tension for the price of one, and further enhancing Alan Banks's reputation as one of crime fiction's most appealing cops.' — Marcel Berlins, The Times
'Two riveting, equally interesting crime novels in one' — Telegraph
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Step So Grave

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

Wedding bells are set to ring as Dandy Gilver, family in tow, arrives in windswept Wester Ross on Valentine's Day. They've come to celebrate Lady Lavinia's fiftieth birthday and to meet her daughter Mallory, a less-than-suitable bride-to-be for Dandy's son Donald.But soon love is the last thing on Dandy's mind when the news breaks that Lady Lavinia has been found dead, brutally murdered in the middle of her famous knot garden. Strange superstitions and folklore abound among the Gaelic-speaking locals. But , Dandy suspects that the tangled boughs and branches around Applecross House hide something much more earthly at work . . .

Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

Song of the Dead

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
John Murray

Rise and Kill First

Ronen Bergman
Authors:
Ronen Bergman
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder Paperbacks

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

A terrible crime. No obvious motive.Banks is on the case.'Top-notch police procedure' - Jeffery DeaverA shocking mass murder occurs at a wedding in a small Dales church and a huge manhunt follows. Eventually, the shooter is run to ground and things take their inevitable course.But Banks is plagued with doubts as to exactly what happened outside the church that day, and why. Struggling with the death of his first serious girlfriend and the return of profiler Jenny Fuller into his life, Banks feels the need to dig deeper into the murders, and as he does so, he uncovers forensic and psychological puzzles that lead him to the past secrets that might just provide the answers he is looking for. When the surprising truth becomes clear, it is almost too late.

Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Hodder Paperbacks

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Mulholland Books

Expecting to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Jericho's War

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

'He now writes better endings than anyone else, and the extended finale is particularly brilliantly orchestrated.' The Sunday Times, Thriller of the MonthIn a moment of nerve shredding suspense that will affect many thousands of lives, a handful of men and women will converge on a barren stretch of Yemeni desert. Each of them will need spirit, courage and immense luck to survive the next forty-eight hours.Corrie Rankin is already a legend at MI6 when he is called back with little regard for the horrors of his recent past. Corrie is sent to take advantage of a chance to take down a high value player in the war against Al Qaeda - and, a chance for the Brits to succeed without begging help from the Americans.The sniper and his spotter who will go with Corrie are less than top team, but the best that can be found if the mission is to stay 'deniable'.And once the three misfits are in-country, they must rely on intelligence brought to them by a young British Jihadi - on the ground and close to the target - and now turned. And, close to him, is an archaeologist digging in the ruins of the Queen of Sheba' civilisation who will be their cut-out contact point.The mission is the brain-child of an apparently old, fat fool in a striped cricket blazer, a sweating figure of fun among the ex-pat community across the border in Muscat. This is Jericho ... not as old or fat or foolish as he appears, nor as harmless.This is Jericho's War. The weapons it deploys, the brutal aims it pursues, are state of the art. The fear it breeds and the raw bravery it demands are as timeless as the desert itself.

Mulholland Books

Final Scream

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERIn a remote countryside lane in North Yorkshire, the body of a young girl is found, bruised and beaten, having apparently been thrown from a moving vehicle.While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks is faced with a similar task - but the case Banks must investigate is as cold as they come. Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused at the centre of a historical abuse investigation and it's Banks's first task as superintendent to find out the truth.While Annie struggles with a controversial case threatening to cause uproar in the local community, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence, and as each steps closer to uncovering the truth, they'll unearth secrets much darker than they ever could have guessed . . .