Michael Hughes - Country - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473636545
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473636538
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018

Country

By Michael Hughes

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473674431
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
John Murray

The Countenance Divine

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes

'Michael Hughes writes like a brilliant cross between David Mitchell and Hilary Mantel' Toby LittIn 1999 a programmer is trying to fix the millennium bug, but can't shake the sense he's been chosen for something.In 1888 five women are brutally murdered in the East End by a troubled young man in thrall to a mysterious master.In 1777 an apprentice engraver called William Blake has a defining spiritual experience; thirteen years later this vision returns.And in 1666 poet and revolutionary John Milton completes the epic for which he will be remembered centuries later.But where does the feeling come from that the world is about to end?

Hodder & Stoughton

No Tigers in the Hindu Kush

Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter

Philip Tranter and three friends drove a Land Rover 6,000 miles overland from Scotland to Nuristan to explore some of the unknown Central Hindu Kush area. They set out to attempt the second ascent of the monstrous Koh-i-Krebek; to ascend if possible at least one other major unclimbed mountain and to map that previously unmapped terrain. In fact, as well as Krebek they climbed nine other major peaks, named another dozen, and established the existence of a dramatic rock and ice range which they called the Rum Mountains, and christened individually after the Hebridean peaks they resembled in shape and beauty. The story of the expedition is told with an infectious enthusiasm for the glory and challenge of these mysterious peaks.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Riven Realm

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Courtesan

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The second in the Master of Gray trilogy takes this seventeenth-century story of war and intrigue in Scotland to the next generation - the Master's illegitimate daughter. Unacknowledged daughter of the Master of Gray, the young Mary inherited her father's amazing good looks and talent for intrigue. Her forbidden love for the young Duke of Lennox showed that her father had also passed on his own passionate nature. Coming to maturity in a Scotland torn by violent conflict, she was wise beyond her years. She needed to be, during the harsh years of the first half of the seventeenth century. This gripping novel by one of the world's foremost historical novelists shows how Mary determined to counteract her father's plotting and save Protestant Scotland from the threat of the Catholic Inquisition. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder Paperbacks

The Botticelli Secret

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

The third unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.Florence looks like gold and smells like sulphur . . .In the colourful world of fifteenth-century Italy, Luciana Vetra is young and beautiful, a part-time model and full-time whore. When she is asked to pose as the goddess Flora for Sandro Botticelli's painting La Primavera, she is willing to oblige - until the artist abruptly sends her away without payment. Affronted, she steals an unfinished version of the painting - only to find that someone is ready to kill her to get it back.As friends and associates are murdered around her, Luciana turns to the one man who has never tried to exploit her beauty, Brother Guido della Torre, a novice at the monastery of Santa Croce. Fleeing Florence together, Luciana and Guido race through the nine great cities of Renaissance Italy, desperately trying to decode the painting's secrets before their enemies stop them.

Hodder & Stoughton

Is It Just Me?

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder & Stoughton

Lion's Whelp

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Honours Even

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1649 Charles II left his exile in the Netherlands and sailed toScotland. Arriving at the small fishing village of Garmouth, he faced amixed reception from the minister of the Kirk.The exiled king was to remain in Scotland for a year, learning moreabout his northern subjects, while the English tried to adjust to lifeunder the puritanical heel of the Lord Protector, Oliver Cromwell.But Cromwell was soon to turn his attentions to matters north of theborder. He coveted the Honours of Scotland - the crown, sceptres andsword-of-state - symbols of hope and the nations's honour.And so the young men of Scotland were forced into battle to save theHonours...The gripping story of Charles II's year in Scotland and Scotland's bravestand against Oliver Cromwell, told by Nigel Tranter, master of Scottishhistorical fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Poetic Justice

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Tapestry of the Boar

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

During the reign of Malcolm IV, King of the Scots, Hugh de Swinton andhis fellow mosstroopers helped keep the rampaging Galloway rebels atbay. But it was for his expertise in the killing of wild boars, asprotector of the Swintons' sheep flocks, that young Hugh was brought toMalcolm's attention.But Malcolm was a pious man much concerned with the well-being of hispeople. And he handpicked Hugh de Swinton to mastermind a very specialproject close to his heart: to establish Scotland's first real hospitalfor the sick and poor, at Soutra in Lauderdale.Action, chivalry and romance in the 12th century: the story of Hugh deSwinton and his thrilling life that encompassed fighting, farming andthe foundation of Scotland's first hospital.

Hodder & Stoughton

True Thomas

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Margaret the Queen

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

First she was Margaret the refugee. A Saxon princess, sister of EdgarAtheling who, but for William the Conqueror, would have been King ofEngland. She came to Scotland in 1069.Beautiful, sympathetic and devout, she was an unlikely consort to therough and ready Malcolm King of Scots and slayer of MacBeth, a man whocared for little other than hunting, drinking and the brutal arts ofwar.Yet, through her gentle strength of character and intelligence, she wasto have a profound and lasting effect on her adopted nation and peoplethat lasts to this day.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Clansman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

This is the second book in Nigel Tranter's trilogy of novels about the MacGregor clan. In 1715, declared an outlaw by the Secretary of State, the Duke of Montrose and the Duke of Cumberland, Rob Roy MacGregor, steadfast supporter of the Stuart cause, leaves home and clansmen to avoid bringing diaster upon them. In his absence, Montrose's factor comes to his home, attacking his proud wife, Mary MacGregor, frightening his children and setting fire to Inversnaid House. For which Rob Roy vows a terrible revenge . . . 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder Paperbacks

Courting Favour

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Marchman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

During the 16th century, the Borderland between Scotland and England was something of a world apart, with its own strange laws, beliefs and customs.Young John Maxwell, Warden of the West March, did his best to control a motley crew of dalesmen and mosstroopers from Liddesdale, Eskdale and Dryfesdale among others, and keep some sort of balance with the unruly West March English.As the turbulent reign of King Henry VIII gave way to the rule of Elizabeth Tudor, John Maxwell - a loyal supporter of Mary, Queen of Scots - inevitably found himself drawn into the wider sphere of the kingdom's affairs.How he fared with Mary's suitors, courtiers and enemies, and his courtship of the beautiful Agnes Herries, forms the fascinating subject of Nigel Tranter's captivating novel.

Hodder & Stoughton

Highness in Hiding

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The quashing of the Jacobite Rising of 1745 saw an end to the ambitions of the exiled house of Stuart. But somehow the young pretender, Prince Charles Edward, otherwise known as Bonnie Prince Charlie, manage to avoid arrest.For six extraordinary months the handsome young prince, often starving, sometimes barefoot and in rags, ranged the Western Highlands and the Outer and Inner Hebrides, hiding, lurking, fleeing.Despite dire threats of punishment to all who might aid and abet him, the royal fugitive was hidden by brave and trusty supporters, each of whom could have betrayed him for the massive £30,000 reward offered by the English.This story stands as a tribute to the loyalty and staunch courage of the Highland clansfolk.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder Paperbacks

David the Prince

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Coronet

The Patriot

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1678, Scotland liesunder the dark threat of union with England. In an era of intrigue and bloodshed, Andrew Fletcher, laird of Saltoun, stands out as a man of ideals and integrity. His fearless and dogged opposition to the Treaty becomes a thirty-year campaign fought in Europe as well as his native Scotland. His eventual defeat is the defeat of a hero and of a cause so dear to his people that his name is glorified in Scottish history.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Gold for Prince Charlie

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1745 the Highlanders limped away from the bitter field of Culloden. Soon the Duke of Cumberland was offering a huge sum for the capture of Prince Charles Edward Stuart, dead or alive. Duncan MacGregor, great-nephew of Rob Roy, volunteers to join the small band of men escorting the Prince to safety. Just one day after the Prince's escape, a large amount of French gold is landed at the very spot from which he has sailed. Thus it is that Duncan becomes involved in a desperate attempt to save Prince Charlie's gold, helped by beautiful, headstrong Caroline Cameron.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Past Master

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Past Master tells the story of Patrick, Master of Gray, in the era of Queen Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scots, and of his remarkable daughter Mary. With the end of Elizabeth I's long reign in sight, Patrick, Master of Gray, is determined that James VI should succeed to the English throne.Nothing can be allowed to stand in his way - not even his own daughter's happiness.And so Mary Gray and her lover, Ludovick, Duke of Lennox, are to be caught up in a savage game of power politics, shaped by personal ambition and religious bigotry.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday