Britta Bolt - Lives Lost - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444787306
    • Publication date:25 Feb 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444787320
    • Publication date:07 May 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473634602
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2016
Books in this series

Lives Lost

Pieter Posthumus Mystery 2

By Britta Bolt

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A murder in Amsterdam's red light district leads Posthumus to uncover a tragic tale from the past, in a gripping Dutch crime novel perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Fred Vargas.

A minute can make all the difference...

Pieter Posthumus is enjoying a quiet drink in his favourite bar when the screaming starts. A minute later, the owner of the guesthouse next door rushes in: one of her tenants has been murdered.

Marloes, the guesthouse owner, is an odd but kind soul. Posthumus cannot believe it when she is arrested - for both her tenant Zig's murder and another death years before. He knows there are questions unanswered: what is the link between the two cases? Why are people so keen to think Marloes is guilty? And why did Zig paint just one picture every year - a copy of a Dutch master, but with one peculiar twist?

As his investigation progresses, he comes to see that a few minutes can mean all the difference in the world: between saving a life and taking one; between innocence and guilt. And that sometimes asking questions leads to a truth that's hard to bear.

Biographical Notes

Britta Bolt was 'born' in January 2010, when former lawyer Britta Boehler, on holiday and reading her favourite crime fiction, felt the urge to turn her past experience into a novel. Rodney Bolt was at home, writing biographies and travel stories, and dreaming of doing the same. Soon afterwards, they had teamed up to write a crime series set in their beloved adopted city Amsterdam.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787313
  • Publication date: 07 May 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
A page-turner full of suspense and surprising twists and turns...Phenomena like home-grown terrorism make this novel just that much more exciting. Once I started reading I could not put it down. — Ayaan Hirsi Ali
The main character is a very appealing, convincing and enthralling creation with a truly bizarre occupation...As with Morse, the city where the action takes place becomes one of the main characters...a compelling story that leaves you wanting to hear more about Pieter's work and his life - and how the city copes with its marvellous mix of eccentrics and dangers. — We Love This Book
Very engaging...Posthumus holds enormous literary appeal — Readings Australia
A delicious writing style makes Lonely Graves an outstanding debut — Algemeen Dagblad
No typical thriller...Posthumus is a find! — Vrij Nederland
An atmospheric and glorious Amsterdam crime story — JAN