Peter Robinson - When the Music's Over - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444786736
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631489
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016
Books in this series

When the Music's Over

DCI Banks 23

By Peter Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The Sunday Times Number One bestseller

The new Sunday Times Number One bestselling DCI Banks book by Peter Robinson has the team investigating two highly contemporary crimes - each echoing and illuminating the other.

The Sunday Times NUMBER ONE bestseller

Two young girls.

Two unspeakable crimes.

Fifty years separate them - their pain connects them.

When the body of a 15-year-old is found in a remote countryside lane, beaten and broken, DI Annie Cabbot is brought in to investigate how the child could possibly have fallen victim to such brutality.

Newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks is faced with a case that is as cold as they come. Now in her 60s, Linda Palmer was attacked aged 14 by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet the crime has never been investigated - until now.

As each steps closer to uncovering the truth, they'll unearth secrets much darker than they ever could have guessed . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson's DCI Banks is now a major ITV1 drama starring Stephen Tompkinson (Wild at Heart, Ballykissangel) as Inspector Banks, and Andrea Lowe (The Bill, Murphy's Law) as DI Annie Cabbot.

Peter's standalone novel BEFORE THE POISON won the IMBA's 2013 Dilys Award as well as the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel by the Crime Writers of Canada. This was Peter's sixth Arthur Ellis award. His critically acclaimed DCI Banks novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world.

Peter grew up in Yorkshire, and now divides his time between Richmond and Canada. Peter keeps a website at www.inspectorbanks.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444786750
  • Publication date: 01 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
John Murray

This Book Will Blow Your Mind

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Co-Active Coaching

Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth
Authors:
Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

By the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, a stunning historical novel with the grip of a thriller, written in richly evocative, luminous prose. One rain-swept February night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind - he cannot talk about the war or face the memory of what happened in a village on the gruelling retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he sets out instead for the Hebrides, with the vague intent of reviving his musical interests and collecting local folksongs. Lacroix sails north incognito, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer are on his trail, with orders to kill. The haven he finds on a remote island with a family of free-thinkers and the sister he falls for are not safe, at all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Sceptre

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fool on the Hill

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Two Roads

Girl on the Line

Alice Vinten
Authors:
Alice Vinten
Two Roads

How to Survive the End of the World (When it's in Your Own Head)

Aaron Gillies
Authors:
Aaron Gillies

There are plenty of books out there on how to survive a zombie apocalypse, all-out nuclear war, or Armageddon. But what happens when it feels like the world is ending every single time you wake up? That's what having anxiety is like - and The Anxiety Survival Guide is here to help. Or at least make you feel like you're not so alone.From helping readers identify the enemy, to safeguarding the vulnerable areas of their lives, Aaron Gillies will examine the impact of anxiety, and give readers some tools to fight back - whether with medication, therapy, CBT, coping techniques, or simply with a dark sense of humour.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Sceptre

Factfulness

Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Authors:
Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Business Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon

From Michael Porter to Lazslo Bock, from The Five Dysfunctions of a Team to Creativity Inc., here are the 50 most important titles on organizational and personal success. 50 Business Classics presents the key ideas from classic texts such as My Years with General Motors and Michael Gerber's The E-Myth Revisited to contemporary business ideas such as the rise of the tech giants like Google, Apple and Amazon. It contains revealing biographies of luminaries like Steve Jobs and Katherine Graham as well as lesser-known stories including creation of publishing giant Penguin and Chinese behemoth Alibaba. Here you'll find the texts and ideas that matter in:· Entrepreneurship· Leadership· Management· Strategy· Business history· Personal development· Technology and innovation Summarising the smartest thinking for today's professional success this book will provide inspiration and insights for entrepreneurs, executives and students of business and management alike.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Fusion

Denise Lee Yohn
Authors:
Denise Lee Yohn
John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
John Murray

Reinventing Capitalism in the Age of Big Data

Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge
Authors:
Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge

John Murray

Lou Reed

Anthony DeCurtis
Authors:
Anthony DeCurtis

As lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground and a renowned solo artist, Lou Reed invented alternative rock. His music, at once the height of sanctity and perversity, transcended a genre, speaking to millions of listeners, inspiring a new generation of musicians, and forever changing the way we think of that iconic era of sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll. Throughout his five-decade career, Reed embodied artistic self-awareness and captured the beauty, paranoia, and vivacity of his time into an array of hit songs, experimental albums, and a larger-than-life persona. With such masterpieces as 'Sweet Jane' and 'Walk on the Wild Side', Reed exerted an influence on popular music rivaled only by the likes of Bob Dylan and the Beatles and is recognized to this day as one of the greatest musicians of the 20th century.Now, just a few years after Reed's death, comes the thrilling, provocative story of his complex life. An acclaimed Rolling Stone contributor, Anthony DeCurtis interviewed Reed extensively and knew him well. With unparalleled access to Reed's friends, family, and dozens of other intimate relations, DeCurtis brings Reed's story compellingly alive and deepens our understanding of his indelible music. We travel deep into the underground artist clubs, listen along in the studio as the Velvet Underground record their signature work, and revel in Reed's relationship with legendaries like Andy Warhol, Patti Smith, and David Bowie. Insightful, revelatory, and intimate, Lou Reed is a gripping tribute to a quintessential American icon.

Hodder & Stoughton

Back to the Boy

James Arthur
Authors:
James Arthur

THE MOST POWERFUL AND REFRESHINGLY HONEST AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF THE YEAR. A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER.'I got very lost. I was still a lost little boy and I didn't know how to cope'There are many things people don't know about me and maybe when they read about those things they will have an understanding of the journey I have been on and why I've made the mistakes I have. Nothing that has happened in my adult life makes much sense if you don't know what life was like for me growing up. I have to go back to the boy, because he can tell you a lot more than I can...In this book James shares his struggles with mental health issues which led to drug-abuse, and how he dealt with the feelings of intense pressure and loneliness that accompanied his sudden rise to fame. Back to the Boy gives an insight into the life of one of the most exciting musicians of today, and how his experiences are reflected in the blend of raw emotion and passion in his music. This is a story of hope and self-discovery to inspire those who have ever hit rock-bottom and managed to pick themselves up again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
John Murray

Bad Choices

Ali Almossawi
Authors:
Ali Almossawi