Noah Hawley - Before the Fall - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444779752
    • Publication date:09 Jun 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444779783
    • Publication date:31 May 2016

Before the Fall

By Noah Hawley

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

From the creator of the award winning FARGO and LEGION TV series comes the stunning thriller that critics are calling '[a] literary thriller of the highest quality' (Daily Mail) and 'an unequivocally excellent book' (Literary Review).

Winner of the 2017 Edgar Award for Best Novel
Selected by The Sunday Times as one of the top page-turners of summer 2017

FROM THE CREATOR OF THE AWARD WINNING FARGO AND LEGION TV SERIES

'Hawley's sublime prose glows on every page in this literary thriller of the highest quality' Daily Mail


THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. BUT FATE IS BLIND.

A private jet plunges into the sea.

The only survivors are down-on his luck artist Scott Burroughs and JJ Bateman, the four year old son of a super-rich TV executive.

For saving the boy, Scott is suddenly a hero.

And then, as the official investigation is rapidly overtaken by a media frenzy, it seems he may also be a villain.

Why was he on the plane in the first place, and why did it crash?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444779776
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
High-class entertainment. — John Williams, Mail on Sunday
As a pacey whodunit...this is the perfect summer read. — The Times
This is one of the year's best suspense novels, a mesmerizing, surprise-jammed mystery that works purely on its own, character-driven terms...Mr. Hawley has made it very, very easy to race through his book in a state of breathless suspense. — New York Times
I started and finished Before the Fall in one day. That begins to tell you what kind of smart, compellingly dramatic read it is. So read it. — James Patterson
There are some books...that stay with you long after you've read them. The characters are so real and because of this their fates matter. Before The Fall by Noah Hawley is one of these books. — Irish Independent
Before the Fall is an astonishing, character-driven tour-de-force. The story is a multi-layered, immersive examination of truth, relationships, and our unquenchable thirst for the media's immediate explanation of unfathomable tragedy. — Karin Slaughter
An addictive thriller whose thematic richness is reminiscent of Franzen. — The Sunday Times
A searingly told, multi-layered portrait of celebrity in the modern world with a tantalising mystery at its heart...Hawley's sublime prose glows on every page in this literary thriller of the highest quality, which never loses its grip. — Daily Mail
Hawley combines a thriller's tight structure and addictive narrative with characterisation and thematic richness reminiscent of Jonathan Franzen — The Sunday Times, Pick of the Paperbacks
[A] Literary thriller of genius. — India Knight
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.Charlie Parker aids the police when a buried, semi-mummified body of a woman is discovered. She apparently died of childbirth. Parker has to find out who she was and what happened to the child.

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

The next dark mystery featuring the Linköping's best detective, Malin Fors, from the bestselling author Mons Kallentoft.In the early hours of the morning, the naked body of a young man is discovered in a ditch next to Go¨ta Kanal. The cause of death is mysterious; the body bears no visible traces of violence.The man is soon identified as Peder Akerlund, a former Swedish politician, excluded from his party for racism but since reformed. Then sixteen-year-old Nadja Lundin is reported missing, possibly abducted, the same evening, and there are signs that suggest the two cases might be connected.But what do the victims have in common? And why were they chosen? Gradually, Malin Fors realises that they are dealing with someone who is playing a game with them, who speaks through murders and who will not be silenced. What is he or she trying to say? Desperate to fine Nadja alive, the team race against the clock to find an answer before it's too late...Praise for the Malin Fors series:'One of the best-realised female heroines I've read by a male writer.' Guardian'Kallentoft's books have been called beautiful, exquisite and original. I can see why.' Literary Review'This is a worthy successor to Larsson's Millennium trilogy.' Booklist Starred Review

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

What to expect when you're not expecting... Having been fiercely focused on her career, Olivia and her husband Felix have moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Burnt

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, THE MAID'S ROOM follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David. Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

The Quinn family celebrate their most dramatic Christmas yet in this enchanting sequel to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling WINTER STREET.Christmas on Nantucket finds Winter Street Inn owner Kelley Quinn and his family busily preparing for the holiday season. Though the year has brought tragedy, the Quinns have much to celebrate: Kelley has reunited with his first wife Margaret, Kevin and Isabelle have a new baby; and Ava is finally dating a nice guy. But when Kelley's wife Mitzi shows up on the island, along with Kevin's devious ex-wife Nora and a dangerously irresistible old fling of Ava's, the Inn is suddenly overrun with romantic feuds, not to mention guests. With jealousy, passion, and eggnog consumption at an all-time high, it's going to take a whole lot more than a Christmas miracle to get the Quinns - and the Inn - through the holidays intact.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up . . . Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?The wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNothing is as permanent as it appears . . .Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence. She can come and go as she pleases, answering to no one. There was a man once, a doctor named Kevin, but it didn't quite work out the way Kitty had hoped.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted-but it only exists when she sleeps.Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world. But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes. Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?As the lines between her worlds begin to blur, Kitty must figure out what is real and what is imagined. And how do we know where that boundary lies in our own lives?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'This poignant page-turner felt vividly real, making me cry and - ultimately - filling me with hope.' (Katie Marsh, author of My Everything) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don't know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy's care who constantly watch over Anna's parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else - including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.And now Anna can't seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can't help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré