Sophie Hannah - Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror

Six Tales of Domestic Terror

By Sophie Hannah

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Six short tales of chilling suspense from bestselling author Sophie Hannah, plus an exclusive extract from her psychological thriller, THE CARRIER, published in February 2013.

Six short tales of chilling suspense from bestselling author Sophie Hannah, plus an exclusive extract from her new psychological thriller, THE CARRIER, coming out in February 2013.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444767186
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'A writer of prodigious talent . . . This reader was left speechless with admiration' — Daily Express on LASTING DAMAGE
For those who demand emotional intelligence and literary verve from their thrillers, Sophie Hannah is the writer of choice. — Guardian
One of the great unmissables of this genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully Gothic imagination. — The Times
A rich mix of the dark and diverting — The Sunday Times Review on KIND OF CRUEL
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

It starts as a prank - a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little...or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt... Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. Lucas knows he should step down from such a personal case. But maybe it's time to uncover the truth at last. That's why five former female counsellors are back in town - among them, Bernadette Warden, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds. First come texts containing a simple, terrifying message: You will pay. Then, the murders begin.

Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella
Authors:
Sebastian Rotella

Maverick agent Valentine Pescatore is back and investigating a brutal killing that leads him across borders and reveals a vast conspiracy of wealth and power terrifyingly close to home.Valentine Pescatore, the former U.S. agent, finds himself back on American soil, investigating the merciless killing of a group of women in a motel room. At first, the crime seems to be a straightforward case of gangsters battling for territory. Soon, however, the motive is revealed to be much deeper and more sinister: a single witness who knows too much is being hunted.From an author who has been praised for his "pounding action scenes [and] ferocious prose style" (Marilyn Stasio, NYTBR), RIP CREW races at breakneck speed as Pescatore finds himself face-to-face with his most terrifying assignment yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder Paperbacks

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs. And when they learn that their school is one of a chain owned by a shady New York hedge-fund operator who also happens to own a bank specialising in student loans, the three realise they have been caught up in The Great Law School Scam.So they begin plotting a way out. Maybe there's a way to escape their crushing debt, expose the bank and the scam, and make a few bucks in the process. But to do so, they have to leave law school, pretend they are qualified and go into battle with a billionaire and the FBI . . .Ingenious, immersive and page-turning, The Rooster Bar is a John Grisham legal thriller bar none.(P)2017 Random House Audio

Coronet

Safe

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

In 2016, Chris Ryan's family was targeted by a terrorist cell. He didn't know who they were, or where they might strike. All he knew was that he wanted to keep his family safe.In SAFE, Chris Ryan has compiled all the personal security expertise he acquired during his time serving with the Regiment - he was awarded the military medal for his quick-thinking and survival instincts. He reveals the skills that kept him safe working undercover in Northern Ireland, on the dangerous streets of central Africa and in the war zones of the Middle East. He explains how civilians can employ these techniques to keep themselves:· Safe on the streets and in their vehicles· Safe in a fight or in the midst of a terror incident· Safe on aircraft or in hostage situations· Safe from cyber attacks· Safe in riots· Safe from sexual predators and much more. Chris Ryan analyses real-life incidents, such as the Manchester Arena bombing, the London Bridge terror attack and the Tunisian beach shootings, and explains how ordinary people should act if they find themselves in similar scenarios. And he reveals fascinating stories, never before told, about life in the Regiment and the dangers faced by SAS soldiers. In a world of ever-present, ever-changing threats, this is a book that will empower you to take personal responsibility for your own security.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROREarly one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

In the Month of the Midnight Sun

Cecilia Ekbäck
Authors:
Cecilia Ekbäck

'A gripping, beautifully written novel that I devoured in a day...as thrilling as it is fascinating' Hannah Kent, author of Burial RitesSweden 1856.Blackasen Mountain: a distant place of rumour, superstition and now - murder.They say it was the Lapp who killed the three men. But something is not right.Ester knows it - but to help the settlers is to betray her people.Magnus feels it too. Sent by the Minister to survey the mountain, he cannot resist its mystery.And Lovisa: banished from the city by her father, travelling with her sister's husband, she is perhaps closest of them all to the wildness of the place.Three people, caught in the haunting light of the midnight sun.

Hodder & Stoughton

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

The Sunday Times 'Thriller of the Month', Mail on Sunday 'Thriller of the Week' and Sun 'Best for Mystery-Lovers'.John Grisham's novels have sold over 300 million copies worldwide. CAMINO ISLAND is both an unputdownable beach read and a thriller for book lovers, beginning with a literary heist and finishing with a cat and mouse duel between a beguiling criminal and the woman set to uncover his guilt.The most daring and devastating heist in literary history targets a high security vault located deep beneath Princeton University.Valued at $25 million (though some would say priceless) the five manuscripts of F Scott Fitzgerald's only novels are amongst the most valuable in the world. After an initial flurry of arrests, both they and the ruthless gang of thieves who took them have vanished without trace.Dealing in stolen books is a dark business, and few are initiated to its arts - which puts Bruce Kable right on the FBI's Rare Asset Recovery Unit's watch list.A struggling writer burdened by debts, Mercer Mann spent summers on Florida's idyllic Camino Island as a kid, in her grandmother's beach cottage. Now she is being made an offer she can't refuse: to return to the peace of the island, to write her novel - and get close to a certain infamous bookseller, and his interesting collection of manuscripts . . .'This story takes you into the dark underworld of the black market for rare books. Think Da Vince Code meets Sherlock Holmes' Sun'The gripping plot will have you devouring the chapters in such a frantic fashion you'll begin to wonder if you are somehow complicit in this perfect crime' Heat

Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Mulholland Books

Lie With Me

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

The Chinaman

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Stephen Leather's BESTSELLING breakthrough thriller.The Chinaman understood death.Jungle-skilled, silent and lethal, he had killed for the Viet Cong and then for the Americans. He had watched helpless when his two eldest daughters had been raped and killed by Thai pirates.Now all that was behind him. Quiet, hard-working and unassuming, he was building up his South London take-away business.Until the day his wife and youngest daughter were destroyed by an IRA bomb in a Knightsbridge department store.Then, simply but persistently, he began to ask the authorities who were the men responsible, what was being done. And was turned away, fobbed off, treated as a nuisance.Which was when the Chinaman, denied justice, decided on revenge. And went back to war.