John Connolly - A Time of Torment - Hodder & Stoughton

A Time of Torment

A Charlie Parker Thriller: 14. The Number One bestseller

By John Connolly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Number One bestseller

Fourteenth in the 'series of superb novels built around the haunted private detective Charlie Parker' Daily Mail. Parker is not like other men. He died, and was reborn. He is ready to wage war, will descend upon a strange, isolated community and face down a force of men who rule by terror, intimidation, and murder.

The Number One bestseller, now out in paperback.

Jerome Burnel was once a hero. He intervened to prevent multiple killings and in doing so damned himself. His life was torn apart. He was imprisoned, brutalized.

But in his final days, with the hunters circling, he tells his story to private detective Charlie Parker. He speaks of the girl who was marked for death but was saved, of the ones who tormented him, and an entity that hides in a ruined stockade.

Parker is not like other men. He died, and was reborn. He is ready to wage war.

Now he will descend upon a strange, isolated community called the Cut, and face down a force of men who rule by terror, intimidation, and murder.

All in the name of the being they serve.

All in the name of the Dead King.

'One of the writer's finest achievements . . . new readers - start here' Independent
'A consistently excellent series . . .a dizzying ride to hell and back' Sunday Herald
'Magical, horrific, poetic, gothic. Unique and rewarding' Maxim Jakubowski

Biographical Notes

John Connolly is author of the Charlie Parker mysteries, The Book of Lost Things, the Samuel Johnson novels for young adults and, with his partner, Jennifer Ridyard, co-author of the Chronicles of the Invaders. John Connolly's debut - EVERY DEAD THING - introduced the character of Private Investigator Charlie Parker, and swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers. All his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He was the winner of the 2016 CWA Short Story Dagger for On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier from NIGHT MUSIC: Nocturnes Vol 2.

In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature. He was the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award and the first Irish writer to win an Edgar award. BOOKS TO DIE FOR, which he edited with Declan Burke, was the winner of the 2013 Anthony, Agatha and Macavity awards for Best Non-Fiction work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751598
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
An enthralling and unsettling story that is as horrific as it is mesmerising . . . scarily good and as dark as one expects it to be. — Shots
This is dry mouth time - superb entertainment, but very unsettling, too. — Fully Booked
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant. It's her worst nightmare...Jenna Burns thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home. Then she returns home one day to find her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing.And the police think it was her...Jenna knows she's been framed. But how can she prove it from behind bars? And then she finds out she is pregnant. It's not only her life at stake. Surrounded by prisoners who'd hurt her if they knew what she's accused of; aware that someone outside hates her enough to kill; Jenna will do whatever it takes to clear her name, save her baby, and find out the truth. But can she do it in time?

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 2 in the DI Westphall series.'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James OswaldThe body of a young boy is discovered at the bottom of a well that has been sealed for two hundred years.Yet the corpse is only days old . . .Soon, similarities from an old crime emerge and DI Ben Westphall must look to the past to piece together the dark and twisted events taking place in the present.

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Mulholland Books

Night

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Mulholland Books

Song of the Dead

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 1 in the DI Westphall series'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers WeeklyA dead man walks into a police station. He tells a tale - bizarre as it is grotesque - of kidnap and organ harvesting. John Baden's story of being held prisoner for twelve years sounds far-fetched - but it's all about to get much, much stranger.DI Ben Westphall has been given the case because of his background in MI6. He also has a knack for getting inside people's heads and seeing things others would miss. Westphall is no ordinary detective and this is no ordinary case.When his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. But what exactly is the truth? To find out, he'll have to question everything he's been told, before there's no one left to ask.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Shell Game

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

A stunning debut crime novel for fans of Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and C.J. Sansom's Dominion.London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He's older, having fought in Europe and then Korea. And he's no Londoner, being from Cotswold farming stock. Then there's Anna, the exotically beautiful White Russian fiancée he has brought back to these drab streets and empty bombsites. She may as well come from a different planet. The new copper also has a mind of his own. After an older colleague is shot by a small-time gangster they are chasing in a pea-souper fog, something nags at Bourton's memory. He begins to make connections which his superiors don't want to see, linking a whole series of deaths and the fogs that stop the city in its tracks. Desperate to prove himself and his theories, Bourton fails to notice the fear which his mysterious bride is doing her best to conceal - and overcome.Soon both Anna and Bourton are taking dangerous paths into the worst fog London has ever known...**********"London had gone. As he stepped through the wicket, a dry smoky chill puffing over the lintel, everything that made the city - skyline, street signs, crowds, scarlet double-deckers - had disappeared, lost in the murk. I can't see the kerb, for God's sake, let alone Barker's across the road. He looked both ways, the chill crawling down his neck . . . Coshing gangs will love this. And our man. But we're on your trail, sunshine. He raised his hat to Marling, locking up behind. Tomorrow we nab you."

Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken

Camaro Espinoza is 'the deadliest female protagonist since Jon Land's Caitlin Strong and Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander' (Booklist).Camaro doesn't particularly want to get involved with other people's lives, other people's problems. But she can tell that the woman in her gym is looking for help. And when she learns that Faith has a stalker, she agrees to give her a few defense lessons. She's not expecting the stalker to become so violent so quickly. Or to have been hired by someone. Faith, it seems, has made some serious enemies... and now they're going after Camaro too. They're about to find out that that was a mistake.

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Missed You

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Violet and Finn are 'meant to be'.A happy couple seemingly brought together by the hand of fate, they have a gorgeous son, and are enjoying their first family holiday in Florida.Until Violet returns to the hotel room to discover that her husband has left without a trace; and he's taken their child with him. Caitlin and Finn have been best friends since the first day of college.But friends don't ask you to hide their kidnapped son, threatening to reveal a secret which could destroy your family if you don't.Do they?Told through the viewpoints of Violet, Caitlin and Finn, Almost Missed You is a powerful story of love, betrayal, and secrets that maybe shouldn't be kept. . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

The first wife died suddenly. Without Miss Silver's help, the new bride may be about to meet a similar fate'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailMaud Silver, demure private eye, is on a train to London when a young woman in a state of shock bursts into her compartment. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with a fortune - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle explains that she fled her home in a hurry after overhearing a sinister conversation. Her new husband's first wife died in an apparent accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now, he's broke again - and she fears he is attempting to engineer a second convenient mishap. Whether the widower is bent on a second murder or his young wife is being paranoid, no one is clear. But if Lisle is in danger, it is up to Miss Silver to find out.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Grey Mask

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown