John Grisham - The Litigators - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444729733
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444730128
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2011

The Litigators

By John Grisham

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The bestselling legal thriller from John Grisham: He's escaped the job from hell. Now he's got one hell of a job.

The classic legal thriller and huge bestseller from master of the genre John Grisham.

David Zinc has it all: Big firm, big salary, life in the lawyer's fast lane.
Until the day he snaps and throws it all away.

Leaving the world of corporate law far behind, he talks himself into a new job with Finley & Figg. A self-styled 'boutique' firm with only two partners, Oscar Finley and Wally Figg are ambulance-chasing street lawyers who hustle nickel-and-dime cases, dreaming of landing the big win.

For all his Harvard Law Degree and five years with Chicago's top firm, Zinc has never entered a courtroom, never helped a client who really needed a lawyer,
never handled a gun.

All that is about to change.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444729726
  • Publication date: 19 Jul 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Grisham is a superb, instinctive storyteller — The Times
Grisham's past form leads you to expect gripped drama; instead he produces a brilliant comic set piece in which everything that could go wrong in a trial does — The Sunday Times
A superbly plotted legal thriller — Sunday Express
Grisham at his very best, fast-paced, funny and packed with living and breathing characters that you'd love to share an after-court beer with. Set aside a weekend for this one, because you won't want to put it down. — Irish Examiner
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.Charlie Parker aids the police when a buried, semi-mummified body of a woman is discovered. She apparently died of childbirth. Parker has to find out who she was and what happened to the child.

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Burnt

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

Worldwide bestseller and master of the legal thriller John Grisham will keep you on the edge of your seat with his most suspenseful thriller yet.Praise for John Grisham:'A superb, instinctive storyteller' The Times'A giant of the thriller genre' Time Out'John Grisham has perfected the art of cooking up convincing, fast-paced thrillers' Telegraph'No one does it better than Grisham' Daily Telegraph

Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark Billingham'Pulse-pounding' Publishers WeeklyImagine waking up covered in blood - but it's not your blood. There's a nasty bump on your head, and you can't remember a thing about last night. The morning paper reports that two young women were brutally murdered. You recognize their names. Pieces of the night before come back to you through the haze. And now you're the suspect in their grisly deaths. Welcome to Charlie's world. In this heart-pounding thriller, only the dead know what happened last night. On the run, Charlie suspects a man named Cyris, but no one believes that Cyris exists. Not the police and not Charlie's ex-wife Jo, though she wants to trust that the man she once loved is innocent. Soon, Charlie has Jo bound and gagged in the trunk of his car, fleeing across the countryside while the killing hour approaches yet again.

Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Relentlessly gripping, deliciously twisted, and shot through with a vein of humor that's as dark as hell' Mark BillinghamWINNER OF NEW ZEALAND'S PRESTIGIOUS NGAIO MARSH AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL OF 2011Edward Hunter has it all - a beautiful wife and daughter, a great job, a bright future... and a very dark past.Twenty years ago, a serial killer was caught, convicted, and locked away in the country's most hellish of penitentiaries. That man was Edward's father. Edward has struggled his entire life to put the nightmares of his childhood behind him. But a week before Christmas, violence once again makes an unwelcome appearance into his world. Suddenly he's going to need the help of his father, a man he hasn't seen since he was a boy. Is Edward destined to be just like him, to become a man of blood?A true master of the genre that only comes along once in a generation, Cleave unveils a brutally vivid picture of a killer's mind and of a city of fallen angels captured at the ends of the earth.

Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

NOMINATED FOR THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINALSometimes reality can really get in the way of a good story.Joe Middleton's story is this: He doesn't remember killing anyone, so there' s no way a jury can convict him of serial murder. He calls himself Joe Victim, trying, as he awaits trial, to convince the psychiatrists that he wasn't in control of his actions, trusting that the system will save him in the end.But others know Joe as the infamous Christchurch Carver and they want to see him dead. There's Melissa, Joe's accomplice in one of the murders, who plans on shooting him on his way to the courthouse before he gets a chance to start talking. Then there's Raphael, whose daughter was one of the Carver's victims. Though he's tried to move on with life as the leader of a counseling group for grieving family members, he'd like nothing more than to watch Joe pay. Finally there's Carl Schroder, the ex-detective who locked Joe up and is determined to put things right for the case of his career.To extract himself from this epic mess, Joe has come up with a desperate plan involving a television psychic who's looking to get rich by making people believe just about anything. It's a long shot, but it had better work before he becomes the poster boy for a death penalty that may be reinstated in New Zealand, which isn't quite the dramatic ending he is hoping for...

Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Breaking Bad reworked by the Coen Brothers.' Kirkus ReviewsCarl Schroder and Theodore Tate, labeled 'The Coma Cops' by the media, are finally getting their lives back into shape. Tate has returned to the police force and is grateful to be back at home with his wife, Bridget. For Schroder, things are neither good nor bad. The bullet lodged in his head from a shooting six months ago hasn't killed him, but - almost as deadly - it's switched off his emotions.When the body of a convicted rapist is found, obliterated by an oncoming train, Tate works the case, trying to determine if this is murder or suicide. The following night, two more rapists go missing. It's hard to investigate when everyone on the police force seems to be rooting for the killer.There's a common plea detectives get from the loved ones of victims: When you find the man who did this, give me five minutes alone with him. And that's exactly what someone is doing. Someone is helping these victims get their five minutes alone. But when innocent people start to die, Tate and Schroder find themselves with different objectives, and soon they're battling something they never would've expected - each other.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Mulholland Books

Revolver

Duane Swierczynski
Authors:
Duane Swierczynski

Three generations - torn apart by one bullet. Philadelphia 1965: Two street cops - one black, one white - are gunned down in a robbery gone wrong. The killer is never prosecuted. One of the fallen officers, Stanislaw Walczak, leaves behind a twelve-year-old boy, Jimmy... Philadelphia 1995: Homicide detective Jim Walczak learns that his father's alleged killer, Terrill Lee Stanton, is out of prison. Walczak will be waiting, determined to squeeze the truth out of him - any way he can. Philadelphia 2015: Jim Walczak's daughter Audrey, studying forensic science in grad school, reinvestigates her grandfather's murder for her dissertation. But the deeper Audrey digs, the more she realises: the man everyone thinks killed Walczak didn't do it...And when the truth comes out, the danger's only going to grow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The 14th thriller in the Spider Shepherd series promises even more unputdownable action from The Sunday Times bestseller Stephen Leather.Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

Trust No One

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark BillinghamThe brand new psychological thriller from the author of The Cleaner and Joe Victim. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and Ian Rankin.His novels tell of brutal murders and bad people. Was it just his imagination? Jerry Grey is better known as crime writer Henry Cutter - whose twelve books kept readers gripped for over a decade. Now he's been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's, and his writing life has ended. But the stories haven't. As his control loosens, Jerry confesses his worst secret: the books are real. He remembers committing the crimes.His friends, family and carers say it's all his head. He's just confused. If that's true, then why are so many bad things happening? Why are people dying?