Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson - The Price of Love - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848944374
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2009
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848940659
    • Publication date:06 Aug 2009
Books in this series

The Price of Love

including an original DCI Banks novella

By Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A fantastic crime collection, including a brand-new Inspector Banks novella, from Number One bestseller Peter Robinson

When DCI Alan Banks arrived in Eastvale his life was every bit as much of a mess as it is now. But he is holding an envelope that could change everything he understood about the events that sent him north twenty years ago. Walking again the narrow alleys and backstreets of his mind, he remembers the seedy Soho nights of his last case - dubious businessmen in dodgy clubs, young girls on the game. And a killer on the loose.

In addition to the brand new novella that fills in the gaps in Banks's life before Yorkshire, Peter Robinson gives us ten more brilliant and eclectic stories that have never before been published in the UK.

The Eastvale Ladies' Poker Circle finds that murder may be just another game of risk. Is a suitcase of cash worth a man's head on a plate? And tragedy leads a young boy to learn the price of love . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and now lives in Canada. His bestselling, critically acclaimed Inspector Banks series has won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340919538
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2010
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Outstanding . . . one of the best voices in contemporary fiction — Publishers Weekly
After 18 tales of the fiendishly good DCI Alan Banks, the bestselling author delves into his leading man's past — Shortlist
The Alan Banks mystery-suspense novels are, simply put, the best series on the market — Stephen King
Robinson once again puts his skills to work in a police procedural that grips like pliers — Independent on Sunday
'A must for Robinson completists, of course, but also for anyone who appreciates good stories well told.' — Globe and Mail, Canada
'Peter Robinson has for too long, and unfairly, been in the shadow of Ian Rankin . . . [he deserves a place] near, perhaps even at the top of, the British crime writers' league' — The Times
A police procedural that grips like pliers — Independent on Sunday on FRIEND OF THE DEVIL
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

***The explosive fifth novel in the Red Rising Series - more information coming soon***PRAISE FOR THE RED RISING SERIES:'Pierce Brown's empire-crushing debut is a sprawling vision . . . Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow' - Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Pandemic'[A] top-notch debut novel . . . Red Rising ascends above a crowded dystopian field' - USA Today'[A] spectacular adventure . . . one heart-pounding ride . . . Pierce Brown's dizzyingly good debut novel evokes The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Ender's Game. . . . [Red Rising] has everything it needs to become meteoric' - Entertainment Weekly

Mulholland Books

The Pandora Equation

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins - an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular 'H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes' Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland'Impressive period detail and sharp dialogue add charm to the strong plot' Daily Mail'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder WarNow an agent of the newly-formed Secret Service, Wiggins is still determined to track down Peter the Painter, the murderer of his friend Bill. Meanwhile Captain Kell is under pressure to identify who is leaking vital information from the government and his wife Constance is getting dangerously close to the more militant faction of suffragettes.When Wiggins traces one of the old Baker Street Irregulars gang to a mysterious club in Belgravia, the action follows thick and fast in another brilliantly compelling novel of betrayal and suspense.

Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Supposedly Happy Occasion

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

A woman jumps to her death. She looks a lot like washed up beauty queen Didi Storm, but her daughter is adamant: that's not her mother. To solve the mystery of who jumped - and why - Remmi Storm and cop Dani Settler have to go back to the start, to a deal conducted in the Las Vegas desert 22 years ago, which went terribly wrong...A fast-paced thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twists.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The second electrifying novel in the Guardian series, by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards.Clever. Cunning. Highly skilled. There's only one Bianca St. Ives. And for her enemies, that's one too many.Bianca St. Ives was recently put through the wringer, but she came out the same way she always does-the way her father trained her to-hungry for a fight. Still navigating the fallout from a shocking revelation that's left a network of assassins' crosshairs trained on her, Bianca's ready to take fate into her own hands. It's kill or be killed, and she's got her finger flush against the trigger.But as Bianca races to outmaneuver her tireless pursuers, her father loops her in on a job that might just do the trick: recover King Priam's Treasure, a collection of heavily guarded, priceless artifacts stolen by the Russians during World War II, and return it to Germany. Impossible? Maybe for some, but a high-risk heist is all in a day's work for Bianca St. Ives, especially when there's intel on the line-intel that could finally bring down the shadowy forces seeking to bury Bianca for good. Faced with threats that circle closer with every move she makes, she knows the stakes have never been higher, but when you're already living on borrowed time, you have to hustle if you want to live to see tomorrow.

Hodder Paperbacks

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bishop's Pawn

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs. And when they learn that their school is one of a chain owned by a shady New York hedge-fund operator who also happens to own a bank specialising in student loans, the three realise they have been caught up in The Great Law School Scam.So they begin plotting a way out. Maybe there's a way to escape their crushing debt, expose the bank and the scam, and make a few bucks in the process. But to do so, they have to leave law school, pretend they are qualified and go into battle with a billionaire and the FBI . . .Ingenious, immersive and page-turning, The Rooster Bar is a John Grisham legal thriller bar none.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Mulholland Books

The Binding Song

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle

'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder War'[A] twist-filled adventure that proves far from elementary.' Wall Street JournalAs a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire.London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in Germany, an arms race; in London, the streets are alive with foreign terrorists. Kell wants to set up a Secret Service, but to convince his political masters he needs proof of a threat - and to find that, he needs an agent he can trust. The playing fields of Eton may produce good officers, but not men who can work undercover in a munitions factory that appears to be leaking secrets to the Germans.Kell needs Wiggins. Trained as a child by Kell's old friend Sherlock Holmes - he led a gang of urchin investigators known as the Baker Street Irregulars - Wiggins is an ex-soldier with an expert line in deduction and the cunning of a born street fighter. 'The best', says Holmes.Wiggins turns down the job - he 'don't do official'. But when his best friend is killed by Russian anarchists, Wiggins sees that the role of secret agent could take him towards his sworn revenge.Tracking the Russian gang, Wiggins meets a mysterious beauty called Bela, who saves his life. Working for Kell, he begins to unravel a conspiracy that reaches far beyond the munitions factory.Fast-paced, action-packed, full of twists and violent, sometimes poignant shocks, The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy marks the arrival of a brilliant new writer.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly