David Nicholls - One Day - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848943964
    • Publication date:23 Jul 2009
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848949775
    • Publication date:04 Feb 2010

One Day

By David Nicholls

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

ONE DAY is the multi-million copy bestselling novel that brilliantly captures the experiences of a generation.

'ONE DAY is destined to be a modern classic' - Daily Mirror

Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY. The multi-million copy bestseller that captures the experiences of a generation.

'I can imagine you at forty,' she said, a hint of malice in her voice. 'I can picture it right now.'

He smiled without opening his eyes. 'Go on then.'

15th July 1988. Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways.

So where will they be on this one day next year?

And the year after that? And every year that follows?

Biographical Notes

Galaxy Book Award-winner (ONE DAY), Richard & Judy bestseller (STARTER FOR TEN), BAFTA Award nominee (GREAT EXPECTATIONS) and now Man Booker Longlisted (US) author David Nicholls trained as an actor before making the switch to writing.
As well as his multimillion-copy bestselling novels STARTER FOR TEN, THE UNDERSTUDY and ONE DAY, David is a scriptwriter whose credits include the TV series Cold Feet, Rescue Me, I Saw You, the TV movies The 7:39 and Aftersun, and screenplays for Far From the Madding Crowd, Great Expectations, Tess of the D'Urbervilles and When Did You Last See Your Father?
He has also written the screenplays for the film adaptations of his own novels, STARTER FOR TEN (2006) which starred James McAvoy, ONE DAY (2010), starring Jim Sturgess and Anne Hathaway, and the forthcoming THE UNDERSTUDY (release TBC).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340896983
  • Publication date: 04 Feb 2010
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
ONE DAY is destined to be a modern classic. — Daily Mirror
Big, absorbing, smart, fantastically readable. — Nick Hornby
A wonderful, wonderful book. — The Times
I finished it last night and I'm still quite wobbly and affected by it. It was BRILLIANT. . . the jealousy nearly made me puke. I wish I'd written this book. — Marian Keyes
I couldn't think of anyone who wouldn't love this book. — Simon Mayo Books Panel, BBC Radio Five Live
An unputdownable romance for the 21st century. — SHE
A genuine tear-jerker as well as laugh-out-loud funny. — Independent on Sunday Books of the Year 2009
This perfectly executed novel is a reminder that reading can be the finest entertainment there is. — Guardian
Sceptre

I Will Be Complete

Glen David Gold
Authors:
Glen David Gold
John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

What to expect when you're not expecting... Having been fiercely focused on her career, Olivia and her husband Felix have moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a heartwarming, feel-good Christmas romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

'Funny, warm and engaging; this year's must-read! 5****' By the Letter Book ReviewsIn the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up...Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?The wonderful new novel from bestselling author Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley, Cathy Bramley, and The Great British Bake Off.Praise for The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club:'A lovely book which brought a tear to my eye in places' - Broadbeansbooks'Heartwarming' - The Book Bag'Funny and emotional...a MUST READ this autumn' - On My Bookshelf'A very warm tale full of different kinds of love; just delicious!' - Netgalley Reviewer'If you want a funny, emotional read that will leave you wanting more then you need this book in your life!' - Goodreads'I loved this book... the perfect place to find a recipe for happiness!' - Goodreads'What an absolute joy to read...such a lovely story' - Goodreads'A winning recipe of a story... I devoured it from cover to cover!' - Goodreads 'Just the breath of fresh air that I needed... I could have kept reading for many more pages!' - Netgalley'I adored this hilarious book!' I Read Novels'Chrissie Manby has cooked up a fine tale' Cultural Wednesday'What a wonderfully lighthearted and uplifting novel, one I couldn't put down' - Bloglovin'An absolute joy to read - highly recommended for when you need a little pick-me-up!' - Brew and Book Reviews

Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Sceptre

Evening Primrose: a heart-wrenching novel for our times

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

The Empathy Problem

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS COMES ANOTHER WARM, WITTY AND GRIPPING STORY OF SECOND CHANCES*****'It's so good it'll leave you wanting to change your own life, to be a better person' INDEPENDENT'Witty and sincere... very clever.' HUFFINGTON POST'Another stand-out book from this outstanding author.' THE SUN, BOOK OF THE WEEK'I absolutely loved this story... Extence has such a dry, witty style of writing.' MARIE CLAIRE 'Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end.' DAILY MAIL*****RESCUED. GABRIEL HAS NEVER RESCUED ANYONE BEFORE. BUT WHEN HIS LIFE GETS TURNED UPSIDE DOWN THERE'S NO MORE TIME FOR REGRETS OR MISSED CHANCES. AND GABRIEL IS JUST ABOUT READY TO GRAB EVERY CHANCE LIFE THROWS AT HIM.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Gift from Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen

Street Cat Bob and James, stars of bestselling A Street Cat Named Bob and The World According to Bob that touched millions around the world, spend a cold and challenging December on the streets together in a new adventure.From the day James rescued a street cat abandoned in the hallway of his sheltered accommodation, they began a friendship which has transformed both their lives and, through the bestselling books A STREET CAT NAMED BOB and THE WORLD ACCORDING TO BOB, touched millions around the world. In this new story of their journey together, James looks back at the last Christmas they spent scraping a living on the streets and how Bob helped him through one of his toughest times - providing strength, friendship and inspiration but also teaching him important lessons about the true meaning of Christmas along the way.

Hodder Paperbacks

Us

David Nicholls
Authors:
David Nicholls
Sceptre

Shame and the Captives

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

On the edge of a small Australian town, far from the battlefields of the Second World War, a camp holds thousands of Japanese, Italian and Korean prisoners of war. The locals are unsure how to treat the 'enemy', though Alice Herman, whose young husband is himself a prisoner in Europe, becomes drawn to the Italian soldier sent to work on her father-in-law's farm. The camp commander and his deputy, each concealing a troubled private life, are disunited. And both fatally misread their Japanese captives, who burn with shame at being taken alive. The stage is set for a clash of cultures that has explosive, far-reaching consequences.

Hodder Paperbacks

Fatal Impact

Kathryn Fox
Authors:
Kathryn Fox
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

The murdered man had been an agent - once, long ago. But George Smiley's superiors at the Secret Service want to see the crime buried, not solved. Smiley will not leave it at that, not when it might lead him all the way to Karla, the elusive Soviet spymaster . . .Smiley's People is a thrilling confrontation between one of the most famous spies in all fiction and his Cold War rival, Karla. Like Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and The Honourable Schoolboy, it is as tense and unforgettable as only le Carré's novels can be.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré