Patricia Wentworth - Spotlight - Hodder & Stoughton

Spotlight

By Patricia Wentworth

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340178331
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 1973
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Coronet
You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver. — The Observer
Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot — Manchester Evening News
Miss Wentworth is a first-rate storyteller — Daily Telegraph
Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying — Scotsman
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

CLASSIC GOLDEN AGE MYSTERY PERFECT FOR FANS OF AGATHA CHRISTIEThe first wife died suddenly. Without Miss Silver's help, the new bride may be about to meet a similar fate'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailMaud Silver, demure private eye, is on a train to London when a young woman in a state of shock bursts into her compartment. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with a fortune - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle explains that she fled her home in a hurry after overhearing a sinister conversation. Her new husband's first wife died in an apparent accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now, he's broke again - and she fears he is attempting to engineer a second convenient mishap. Whether the widower is bent on a second murder or his young wife is being paranoid, no one is clear. But if Lisle is in danger, it is up to Miss Silver to find out.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph'You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver' Observer'Miss Silver is marvellous' Daily Mail'Better than Miss Marple' Mary Stewart'A particular favourite' Andrew Taylor 'Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying' Scotsman'Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot' Manchester Evening News

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

CLASSIC GOLDEN AGE MYSTERY PERFECT FOR FANS OF AGATHA CHRISTIEMiss Silver must unravel a tangled web of marriage, mystery and murder'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailNo one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry. Allegra's husband is a strange man. He is consumed with his dream of owning the ramshackle estate curiously known as Ladies' Bane, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison. She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph'You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver' Observer'Miss Silver is marvellous' Daily Mail'Better than Miss Marple' Mary Stewart'A particular favourite' Andrew Taylor 'Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying' Scotsman'Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot' Manchester Evening News

Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Wolf Winter

Cecilia Ekbäck, Cecilia Ekbäck
Authors:
Cecilia Ekbäck, Cecilia Ekbäck

Winner of the 2016 HWA Goldsboro Debut Crown Award.'Exquisitely suspenseful, beautifully written, and highly recommended.' Lee ChildThere are six homesteads on Blackåsen Mountain.A day's journey away lies the empty town. It comes to life just once, in winter, when the Church summons her people through the snows. Then, even the oldest enemies will gather.But now it is summer, and new settlers are come.It is their two young daughters who find the dead man, not half an hour's walk from their cottage.The father is away. And whether stubborn, or stupid, or scared for her girls, the mother will not let it rest.To the wife who is not concerned when her husband does not come home for three days; to the man who laughs when he hears his brother is dead; to the priest who doesn't care; she asks and asks her questions, digging at the secrets of the mountain.They say a wolf made those wounds. But what wild animal cuts a body so clean?

Mulholland Books

Remember Me This Way

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Ella Williams is ten years old. She loves her granddad and her sister and her shiny new red shoes. She's just been abducted by a killer - someone who kidnaps young girls, holds them for a few weeks then returns their bodies clothed in white foundling dresses. The crimes are clearly linked to notorious child murderer Louis Kinsella, locked away in a high-security hospital. Is it a copycat? Or is he giving someone direct orders from behind bars? To save Ella's life, psychologist Alice Quentin must form a relationship with Kinsella. But he is slow to give up his secrets, and all the while, time is running out...

Mulholland Books

Lonely Graves

Britta Bolt
Authors:
Britta Bolt
Hodder & Stoughton

Polar Vortex

Tom Harper
Authors:
Tom Harper

An ebook short story set in the coldest place on earth, perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Dan Simmons and Alistair MacLean.Utgard: a tiny island at the frozen edge of the world. Home to scientists, oil men, and the occasional polar bear. For Andy MacDonald it's the most awe-inspiring place on earth: isolated, beautiful and pristine. Mac has always respected the Arctic. He's always understood how dangerous it is.Until the day that a beautiful woman emerges from a whiteout, claiming to be nothing more than a lost environmental activist. Before long Mac is caught up in a dangerous game of cat and mouse. And he's about to find out exactly how deadly the Arctic can be.'Polar Vortex' takes place six months before ZODIAC STATION, the novel Chris Ewan calls 'thrilling and immersive'.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Telling Error

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Mulholland Books

Pay Any Price

Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
Hodder & Stoughton

Pandemic

Scott Sigler
Authors:
Scott Sigler

Scott Sigler is the voice in modern horror - and the INFECTED trilogy is a terrifying, menacing series that will leave you sleepless.The alien intelligence that unleashed two horrific assaults on humanity has been destroyed. But before it was brought down in flames, it launched one last payload - a tiny soda-can-sized canister filled with germs engineered to wreak new forms of havoc on the human race. That harmless-looking canister has languished under thousands of feet of water for years, undisturbed and impotent . . . until now.Days after the new disease is unleashed, a quarter of the human race is infected. Entire countries have fallen. And our planet's fate now rests on a small group of unlikely heroes, racing to find a cure before the enemies surrounding them can close in.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tonight You're Mine

Carlene Thompson
Authors:
Carlene Thompson

Fifteen years ago, Nicole and Paul were deeply in love; she was a college student and he was a brilliant pianist. They were passionately happy, until one violent, terrifying night changed their lives forever. Now she's a different person, with a different life, but her past continues to haunt her. And though Paul was reported dead in a car crash, Nicole can't shake the feeling that the man she loved is still out there somewhere.Following the sudden death of her father, a series of mysterious murders shake Nicole's world, threatening her safety, as well as her sanity. And somehow, these horrific killings are tied to Nicole. She must find out why, and uncover the shadowy figure who stalks her before he makes his deadly claim.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way You Look Tonight

Carlene Thompson
Authors:
Carlene Thompson
Hodder & Stoughton

Black for Remembrance

Carlene Thompson
Authors:
Carlene Thompson

Caroline Webb knows what it means to lose the person you love most. Twenty years ago, her five-year-old daughter, Hayley, was the light of her life. Then came the terrible day when Hayley was kidnapped from her favourite swing. More than a month passed before her burned, lifeless body was found. All that remained was the silence of Caroline's heartache, and her guilt.Now, Caroline has started over with a new husband. She even has another precious daughter, Melinda. She thinks she has put the ghosts of her past behind her. But then Hayley's favorite doll reappears, strange murders rock the Webbs' small town, Caroline even claims she has heard the voice of the little girl she lost all those years ago. Could Hayley still be out there somewhere, somehow? Now a killer waits in the wings--waiting to make Caroline live her worst nightmare yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Inspector Lynley Collection Books 1-4

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

In the very first Inspector Lynley novel, A GREAT DELIVERANCE, Lynley and DS Barbara Havers are sent by Scotland Yard to solve a gruesome murder where they uncover a series of shocking revelations that shatter the façade of the peaceful Yorkshire village.In PAYMENT IN BLOOD, Inspector Lynley faces the most testing case of his career in an isolated Scottish mansion where a famous playwright is savagely murdered - one of the suspects is Lady Helen Clyde, the woman Lynley loves. WELL SCHOOLED IN MURDER is set in an old and distinguished public school. The body of a brilliant young pupil is discovered in a country churchyard. Hampered by the code of honour and loyalty that prevail, Inspector Thomas Lynley and Barbara Havers discover within the confines of that privileged community a culture of cruelty that stretches back across the generations.In A SUITABLE VENGEANCE, Inspector Lynley investigation into the brutal murder of a local journalist tears apart powerful ties of love and friendship, shattering the tranquillity of the picturesque Cornish community and exposing a long-buried family secret. Its consequences irrevocably alter the course of Thomas Lynley's life.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Black Angel

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 1-4

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 5-8

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Show, Don't Tell

Susanna Quinn
Authors:
Susanna Quinn
Hodder & Stoughton

Oscar Wilde and the Murders at Reading Gaol

Gyles Brandreth
Authors:
Gyles Brandreth